Thailand, the land of smiles

thailand

Thailand, the land of smiles, is a magical country. If you have not been there before, there is a good chance it will happen someday.

Why? Because Thailand is a beautiful place, where it is very easy to travel, even on a small budget.

I went there 5 times, and I lived there for 9 months. I learned to speak and read Thai (beginner level, but still). I knelt the country from north to south. I scoured the most famous sites, and I got lost in lesser-known corners. Suffice it to say, I know Thailand well. There are still corners that I have not explored, but I intend to discover them soon. Moreover, it is because I get asked for advice about Thailand so frequently that I decided to create the category “Around the Word” on this blog.

thailande kids

Thailand, an easy country to travel

A buddhist country

Unlike its neighboring countries, Thailand has not been involved in a war for a long time, and therefore tourism is very developed. No matter where you go, you will always find a guesthouse. There are buses to take you everywhere, and the roads are not too chaotic. Since it is a predominantly Buddhist country, people are zen and very welcoming.

thailande hugs

Moreover, they will always have the courtesy to answer you if you ask for directions, but that does not mean that they have understood you. So if you are lost, do not hesitate to ask for direction to 3 different people. Better yet, ask to be accompanied.

A developped country

Contrary to what most tourists believe, Thailand is not a third world country full of mentally retarded people. If you take the time to talk to them like normal human beings, they will be touched, and you will experience their kindness. They will not hesitate to help you or offer you a free meal. Furthermore, Thailand is far from being a third world country.

Nevertheless, beware of tourists. They tend to think of themselves as the kings of the world during their stay there. As a result, do not expect to meet very friendly Thai people in the more touristy places. Fortunately, some tourists are put back in their place from time to time, like Ryan Gosling getting disassembled in Only God Forgives. It’s not nice to see, but it’s well deserved. Remember that Thai boxing is a national sport.

Get ready to laugh a lot. Thais have a strong sense of self-deprecation. I cry of laughter every day watching them go out in their pajamas, fall asleep on their motorbikes in incredible positions, draw eyebrows on their dogs, or have their beard shaved in the middle of the street. Moreover, they adore everything that is kawai.

thailand is funny

About the most unexpected things I’ve seen there, I still don’t understand why they have build sidewalks with trees in the middle as big as the size of the sidewalks.

thai street

What to visit in Thailand?

Thailand has almost the same surface area as France, roughly 514000 km2. This country has four bordering countries and is surrounded by two seas, the Andaman Sea and the Gulf of Thailand. There are flat regions, and others more hilly, so the landscapes are varied, and there are plenty of things to see.

The North

The northern region is much less touristy than the south because there are no beaches in the north. Yet the north offers wonderful scenery, temples to visit, and jungles to cross. Life is very quiet. This is the perfect opportunity to take meditation or yoga classes, or even to go on a silent retreat in a temple.

One can go to the Thai mountains to rest, like in the hippie village of Pai, or wear yourself out. Between trekking, canyoning and rafting, there is no shortage of activities on offer.

The South

The south of Thailand is visited mainly for its paradisiac islands. They offer something for everyone. Some islands are very developed, some are wild, some are big, and some are small. Some are dedicated to parties, others to idleness. The choice depends on what you are looking for.

The capitale

Finally Bangkok, essential capital that lives at 200km/h. I love Bangkok. Despite its reputation as an indomitable city, I found my haven of peace, and I hope that I will make you love this city.

If this is your first trip, you will want to see the temples and islands that everyone is talking about, but which ultimately are not so exceptional. In fact, if you go off the beaten path, you will discover small villages or incredible beaches that nobody knows, and there, your holidays will be unforgettable. As a rule of thumb: the lesser known an island, and the more beautiful it is.

What I absolutely discourage:

Treks in the north to see “giraffe women“. Do not condone this zoo tourism that reduces other humans to circus objects. It’s just shameful.

Tours organized on elephants. It is well known that they are abused to entertain tourists. If you really like pachyderms, then choose to spend a few days in one of the reserves of the country. Some beautiful souls have opened these reserves to save the elephants that suffer the most, in order to give them a happier end to their life.

The Tiger Temple and other zoos. What is the point of taking a picture with a drugged and chained up animal?! I remember that about twenty tiger babies were found dead there a while ago. In fact, these temples are full of cubs in order to entertain tourists, but once these cubs grow up and they take up space (because tigers can grow up being somewhat large), they are simply shot. So, still want to pay 50 euros to give them the bottle knowing they will not live for more than a year?

 

Decrypt Thai English

English is compulsory at school, so Thais speak this language, but their proficiency is comparable to that of French people. So, out of fear of not being understood, or not understanding, they prefer to avoid conversations if their level of English is not good enough.

In order to decrypt their English, we must understand that the last syllable is always long, and that it is a language of intonation, which is not the case for French. Also, they cannot pronounce the letter “R”.

So my name, Romy, becomes “Lomiii”. The neighborhood where I lived is called “town-in-town”, but it is pronounced “TAN IN TAAAAAN”. The Union Mall is called “LUNION MOOOL”.

Learn some vocabulary, just for the sake of it. The women finish their sentence by “ka“, and the men by “kap“.

– Hello: sawadee ka / kap

– How are you? : sabaidee ka / kap

– Thank you: kopkun ka / kap

 

 

A cheap trip?

The lowest price accommodation is affordable for everyone. In addition, if you stay at the same place for one week or more, you can benefit from very attractive discounts.

The price of food is completely derisory. If you eat locally, a meal will rarely cost you more than one euro.

For the rest, tell yourself that nothing costs more than 200 baht. If you buy a t-shirt more expensive than that, it’s a designer piece, or you are getting ripped off.

thailande 200 baht

Given the low cost of everything, you can really arrive with an empty backpack. You will find everything you need in a 7/11 at the corner of your hotel. Know that this wonderful store is open 24/7, and that they have everything you want for next to nothing, travel size or not. You can even buy a single yogurt, if you want to eat one. Genius! So do not clutter with a big bag, and buy that gift you need as you go. By the way, if you do not know what to put in your suitcase, here are my tips.

But you don’t have a baht left ?

The cost of life in Thailand is laughable, but it can quickly become expensive. The more touristy an area is, the more expensive it is. Especially life on the islands is much more expensive than in the North. The average price for a 1-hour massage is 200 baht. So get one every 2 days please!

The problem is that, as nothing is expensive, we tend to have fun, and therefore consume more. If your stay in Thailand has cost you a fortune, it’s simply because you have consumed as if someone had announced the end of the world for next week. And before you go home, take advantage of low-cost markets to stock up on souvenirs.

 

I went there:

Bangkok, the capital

– The path to the north: Ayuttaya, Lopburi, Chiang Mai, Pai.

– Southeast: Pattaya, Ban Phe

– The infernal trio: Phuket, Koh PhiPhi, Koh Lanta

– The easy trio: Koh Samui, Koh Tao, Koh Phangan

– The most beautiful islands: the Koh Tarutao archipelago, Koh Lipe, Koh Bulone, Koh Mook

 

I did not go, but it is worth seeing:

Chiang Rai and its region.

Nan province, the region least affected by tourism, and the most authentic.

The province of Loei, very popular with Thai tourists. Ideal for camping or hiking. To see during the festival Phi Ta Khon, between March and June, dedicated to ghosts.

Hua Hin, seaside resort easily accessible from Bangkok, very popular with Thais.

The province of Isan and the Khmer remains.

Erawan National Park, ideal for a few days’ walk, and to learn more about the history of the country.

Khao Sok National Park, for lovers of dense and wild nature.

Koh Chang, Koh Mak, Koh Kuud and Koh Kradat. These are islands on the border of Cambodia, less touristy, but very pleasant. Koh Mak and Koh Kuud are famous for their beauty. Koh Kradat is inhabited by deer (yes).

Koh Prayam. Located near Burma, this island is not frequented by tourists but is famous for being beautiful and wild. The reason I never went there was because its full of snakes…

– The border with Malaysia, and its incredible lagoons.

Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !

One Reply to “Thailand, the land of smiles”

  1. […] capitale de la Thaïlande, est une ville […]

Leave a Reply

Si vous n’êtes pas déjà allé en Thaïlande, il y a de fortes chances pour que cela arrive un jour.
Pourquoi ? Parce que la Thaïlande est un pays magnifique, où il est très facile de voyage pour un coût assez dérisoire.

J’y suis allée 5 fois, et j’y ai vécu 9 mois. Je parle et j’écris un peu le thaï (niveau débutant, mais quand même). J’ai baroudé le pays du nord au sud. J’ai écumé les sites les plus connues, et je me suis perdue dans des recoins les moins connus. Donc bon, je connais bien le pays. Par ailleurs, c’est à force qu’on me demande des conseils sur la Thaïlande que j’ai décidé de développer la catégorie « Around the Word » sur ce blog.

thailande kids

La Thaïlande, un pays facile pour voyager

Un pays bouddhiste

Contrairement à ses pays voisins, la Thaïlande n’a pas connu de guerre depuis longtemps, et donc le tourisme y est très développé. Peu importe où vous allez, vous trouverez toujours une guesthouse. Il y a des bus pour aller partout et les routes ne sont pas trop chaotiques. Etant donné que c’est un pays majoritairement bouddhiste, les gens sont zen et très accueillants.

thailande hugs

Par ailleurs, ils auront toujours la politesse de vous répondre si vous demandez votre chemin, mais cela ne veut pas dire qu’ils vous ont compris. Donc si vous êtes perdus, n’hésitez pas à demander votre direction à 3 personnes différentes. Ou mieux encore, demandez qu’on vous accompagne.

Un pays développé

Contrairement à ce que la plupart des touristes pensent, les Thaïlandais ne sont pas des attardés mentaux du tiers-monde. Si vous prenez la peine de leur parler comme à des êtres humains normaux, ils seront touchés, et vous le rendront de façon merveilleuse. Ils n’hésiteront pas à vous aider ou à vous offrir le repas. Puis la Thaïlande, c’est loin d’être le tiers-monde…

Les touristes, le point noir de la Thaïlande

Néanmoins, méfiez-vous des touristes. Ils ont tendance à se prendre pour les rois du monde pendant leur séjour là-bas. A cause d’eux, ne vous attendez pas à croiser des Thaïlandais très sympathiques dans les zones les plus touristiques. Heureusement, certains touristes sont remis à leur place de temps en temps, façon Ryan Gosling qui se fait démonter dans Only God Forgives. Ce n’est pas beau à voir, mais c’est bien mérité. Pensez que la boxe thaï est un sport national.

Préparez-vous à rire beaucoup. Les Thaïlandais ont un fort sens de l’autodérision. Je me suis tapée de barres de rires tous les jours à les voir sortir en pyjama, s’endormir sur leur moto dans des positions incroyables, dessiner les sourcils de leur chien, ou à s’épiler la barbe en plein milieu de la rue. En plus, ils adorent tout ce qui est kawai.

thailand is funny

Parmi les choses les plus improbables, je n’ai jamais compris pourquoi ils ont placé des troncs d’arbres énormes au milieu des trottoirs, ce qui oblige les passants à marcher sur la route…

thai street

Qu’est ce qu’il faut visiter en Thaïlande ?

La Thaïlande a quasiment la même superficie que la France, soit 514000 km2. Ce pays est entouré par deux mers, la mer Andaman et le golfe de Thaïlande. Il y a des régions plates, et d’autres plus vallonnées. Donc les paysages sont variés, et les choses à voir ne manquent pas.

Le Nord

La région du nord est beaucoup moins touristique que celle du sud, car il n’y a pas de plage dans le nord. Pourtant, le nord offre des paysages merveilleux, des temples à visiter, et des jungles à traverser. La vie y est très tranquille. C’est l’occasion idéale de prendre des cours de méditation ou de yoga, voire même de partir en retraite silencieuse dans un temple.

On peut se rendre dans les montagnes thaïlandaises pour se reposer, comme dans le village hippie de Pai, ou bien pour se dépenser. Entre le trek, le canyoning, le rafting, ce n’est pas les activités qui manquent.

Le Sud

Le sud de la Thaïlande se visite surtout pour ses iles paradisiaques. Il y en a pour tous les goûts. Il y en a de très développées, des plus sauvages, des grandes, des petites. Certaines sont dédiés à la fête, d’autres au farniente. Le choix dépend de l’ambiance que vous recherchez.

La Capitale

Enfin Bangkok, capitale incontournable qui vit à 200 à l’heure. J’adore Bangkok. Malgré ses apparences de ville indomptable, c’est mon havre de paix, et j’espère que je vous ferai aimer cette ville.

Si c’est votre premier voyage, vous aurez envie de voir les temples et les îles dont tout le monde parle, mais qui finalement, ne sont pas si exceptionnels. En fait, si vous vous éloignez des sentiers battus, vous allez découvrir des petits villages ou des plages incroyables que personne ne connait, et là, vos vacances vont être inoubliables. Dites-vous que moins une île est connue, et plus elle est jolie.

Décrypter l’anglais des thaïlandais

L’anglais est obligatoire à l’école, donc les Thaïlandais parlent cette langue. Mais le niveau est à peu près le même qu’en France, donc pas terrible. Alors par peur de ne pas être compris, ou de ne pas comprendre, si leur niveau d’anglais n’est pas assez bon, ils préfèrent éviter les conversations.

Afin de décrypter leur anglais, il faut comprendre que la dernière syllabe est toujours longue, et que c’est une langue à intonation, ce qui n’est pas le cas du français. Aussi, ils ne peuvent pas prononcer les « R ».

Donc mon prénom, Romy, devient « Lomiii ». Le quartier où j’habite s’appelle « town-in-town », mais ça se prononce « TAN IN TAAAAAN ». Le centre commercial Union Mall se dit « LUNION MOOOL ».

Apprenez quelques mots de vocabulaires. Les femmes terminent leur phrase par « ka », et les hommes par « kap ».

  • Bonjour : sawadee ka/kap
  • Comment ça va ? : sabaidee ka/kap
  • Merci : kopkun ka/kap

Afin de vous préparez, matez ça

En Thaïlande, on refuse absolument :

Les treks dans le nord pour aller voir « les femmes girafes ». Ne cautionnez pas ce tourisme de zoo qui réduit les autres humains à des objets de cirque. C’est juste honteux.

Les tours organisés à dos d’éléphants. On ne cesse de vous le répéter qu’on y maltraite les éléphants pour les spectacles et les tours dans la jungle. Si on aime vraiment les pachydermes, alors on choisit de passer quelques jours dans une des réserves du pays. En effet, quelques belles âmes ont ouvert ces réserves afin de sauver les éléphants les plus mal en point, et pour leur offrir une fin de vie plus heureuse.

Le Tiger Temple et autres zoos. A quoi bon se prendre en photo avec un animal drogué et enchaîné ? Je rappelle qu’on y a encore retrouvé une vingtaine de bébés tigres morts il y a peu de temps. En fait, ils enchaînent les portées pour avoir plein de bébés pour amuser les touristes, mais une fois que ces bébés grandissent et qu’ils prennent de place (parce que ça peut devenir très gros un tigre), ils sont tout simplement abattus. Alors, encore envie de payer 50 euros pour leur donner le biberon sachant qu’ils ne vivront pas plus d’un an ?

Un voyage à bas prix ?

Les premiers prix des logements sont vraiment accessibles pour tous. En plus, si vous restez au moins une semaine au même endroit, vous pouvez bénéficier de remise très intéressante.

Le prix de la nourriture est complètement dérisoire. Si vous mangez local, un repas vous coûtera rarement plus d’un euro.

Pour le reste, dites-vous que rien ne coûte plus de 200 bahts. Si vous achetez un t-shirt plus cher que ça, soit c’est une pièce de créateur, soit vous vous faites arnaquer.

thailande 200 baht

En fait, vous pouvez vraiment arriver avec un sac à dos vide. Vous trouverez tout ce dont vous avez besoin au 7/11 qui se trouve au coin de votre hôtel. Sachez que ce magasin merveilleux est ouvert 24h/24 7j/7, et qu’on y trouve tout ce qu’on veut à bas prix, en format voyage ou pas. Vous pouvez même y acheter un seul yaourt, si vous avez envie de ne manger qu’un. Du génie ! Alors ne vous encombrez pas avec un gros sac, et achetez ce dont vous avez besoin au fur et à mesure. A propos, si vous ne savez pas quoi mettre dans votre valise, vous trouverez mes conseils à ce sujet ici.

Pourtant vous n’avez plus un seul baht ?

Le prix de la vie en Thaïlande est bas, mais ça peut vite coûter cher. En fait, plus une zone est touristique, plus elle est chère. Notamment la vie sur les îles coûte le double que dans le nord. Malgré ça, le prix moyen d’une heure de massage est de 200 bahts. Alors faites-vous masser tous les 2 jours, silvouplé !

Puis, comme rien ne coûte cher, on a tendance à consommer plus. Si votre séjour en Thaïlande vous coûte une fortune, c’est parce que vous avez consommé comme si on vous annonçait la fin du monde pour la semaine prochaine.  Avant de rentrer, profitez des marchés à bas prix pour faire le plein de souvenirs, autant pour vous que pour vos proches.

J’y suis allée :

Je n’y suis pas allée, mais c’est à voir :

  • Chiang Rai et sa région.
  • La province de Nan, la région la moins touchée par le tourisme, et la plus authentique.
  • La province de Loei, très prisée par les touristes thaïlandais. Idéale pour faire du camping ou de la randonnée. A voir pendant le festival Phi Ta Khon, entre mars et juin, dédié aux fantômes.
  • Hua Hin, station balnéaire facile d’accès depuis Bangkok, très prisée par les Thaïlandais.
  • La province de l’Isan et les vestiges khmers.
  • Le parc national d’Erawan, idéal pour se balader quelques jours, et en apprendre plus sur l’histoire du pays.
  • Le parc national de Khao Sok, pour les amoureux de la nature dense et sauvage.
  • Koh Chang, Koh Mak, Koh Kuud et Koh Kradat. Ce sont des iles à la frontière du Cambodge, moins touristiques, mais très agréable. Koh Mak et Koh Kuud sont réputées pour leur beauté. L’île de Koh Kradat est habitée par des cerfs (si si).
  • Koh Prayam. Située à proximité de la Birmanie, cette île est peu fréquentée par les touristes et elle a la réputation d’être magnifique et sauvage.  Mais il parait qu’elle serait remplie de boas…
  • La frontière avec la Malaisie, et ses lagons incroyables.
Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !