Bangkok, a magical city

bangkok

Bangkok, the capital of Thailand, is a magical city.

Too noisy, too polluted, too much of this or too much of it, Bangkok is often shunned by tourists. Yet this city has so much to offer. It is a city to tame, because in the middle of the intimidating “too much”, it is full of incredible things.

The proof is that all those who have taken the time to discover this city, tourists or expats, love it.

My life in Bangkok

On my first trip to Thailand, I saw Bangkok as an urban jungle. I did not expect so much modernity, buildings, malls and cars. I was surprised to discover a more modern city than the European capitals. Little by little, I realized that this city had a crazy energy. It was decided, I will return there.

romy in bangkok

Since then, I have been there three times, each time for a period of three months. I worked there, which allowed me to live there at the pace of locals. I took the time to get lost, to choose random streets, to visit the temples, experience the nightlife and devour the markets.

bangkok prayer

I discovered an incredible city. Yes, there are many cars and traffic jams. Then again, what does traffic in your city look like during rush hour? The density of traffic in Bangkok means that this city does not sleep. It is constantly moving. Everything is possible.

bangkok

bangkok

 

Temples and monuments

In Bangkok there are many temples to visit. I’ve visited most of them. Overall, they are not exceptional. If you skip them, it’s not a big deal. Attention, most temples close their doors around 4pm. If you want to see some, here are the ones I recommend.

  •  Golden Mountain: easy to access and the view is great.

Golden moutain bangkokGolden Moutain Bangkok

  • Wat Tephtidaram Worawihan and Loha Prasart: Just in front of the Golden Mountain, those temples are quite impressive. I like to have a walk there.

wat bangkok

  • Wat Arun: my favorite, the oldest, least touristy.

Wat arun Bangkok

wat arun bangkok

 

Khao San Road

Khao San Road is the backpacker’s district. This is not at all representative of Bangkok because it has nothing to do with the rest of the city. There are no Thais even living there.

The cool things about Khao San Road:

  • Every night, there is a small market organized in the streets. It’s perfect to buy your last souvenirs.
  • The neighborhood is relatively close to some temples and monuments.
  • It’s full of bars and clubs of all kinds, and even clubs with Thai music. So if you want to sway your hips, you will always find a pub in Khao San Road.
  • Finally, if this is the first trip of your life and the Thais frighten you, then rest assured, you will stay amongst white people on Khao San Road.

The non very cool things about Khao San Road:

  • There are only white people who think they are the kings of the world.
  • It’s far from the airport, so it will cost you a lot more money by taxi, without traffic jams. And it’s far from the coolest area of the city.
  • It’s very noisy. There is a good chance that your room overlooks a night club, so do not expect to sleep early.
  • The food is bad and more expensive than elsewhere. Fortunately, there are pharmacies.

If you really want to try the experience, I recommend sleeping at Ram Buttri Village. It is good value, even if the staff is infamous.

 

Sukhumvit

Sukhumvit is the name of a big avenue that runs through Bangkok’s economic district. It is on this road that you will experience the energy of the city. Modernity and tradition are juxtaposed. Beware, its effervescence can quickly exhaust.

Start your walk from the MBK. There you can fix the screen of your phone, of find a funny protection for it. Then walk to Siam Paragon through the little streets. It’s full of cool and funny shops. Once at the Siam, enjoy the food court or the 4D cinema. Anyway, there is always an event organised at the main entrance.

siam paragon bangkok

Little trick for girls: In the malls, the toilets are always clean!

bangkok

Once the night falls, the street stalls are transformed to give way to another world, that of girls and men of joy, alcohol and sex. It should not be taken too seriously. The first time, I was very young, and to see as many whores per square meter shocked me. Then I realized that it was part of the decor, most girls have no choice, and ladyboys are receptive to good jokes. The main issue is all of those european guys who needs to empty there balls.

You can take things to the next level and watch a ladyboy show in Nana. It’s quite funny. Nevertheless, pay attention to your beer. It is not unusual to receive your bottle already opened, as they like to spike your drinks with amphetamines to turn you into a happier consumer.

bangkok nana

 

Silom

Silom is another economic artery in Bangkok near Lumpini Park. Well, I personally prefer the dynamism of Sukhumvit. But this area is worth seeing as well. Despiste the Lumpini Park which is nice, I found the are of Silom darker than Sukhumvit,

If you dream of seeing a ping-pong show, you will find one here. Do not expect anything sexy. Women who do this have been pregnant several times.

 

Shopping in Bangkok

Bangkok is a shopper’s paradise. Every time, I arrive with 2kg of luggage, and I leave with 25kg. You can buy everything for next to nothing.

  • Malls: Some malls like Siam Paragon have only luxury boutiques of world famous brands. Others, such as Platinium in Sukhumvit, or Union Mall in Lad Prao, have only local brands and are much cheaper.
  • Chatuchak Market is the most incredible market. It’s huge, you can find everything. It’s open every Saturday and Sunday. It is located at the terminus of the metro station MRT. It’s really worth experiencing.
  • Train Market or Rot Fai Talat: Originally, this vintage market had settled in an abandoned station. Since then the traders have been dislodged, and the market has opened its doors elsewhere. There are 2 in the city, open every evening for Thursdays to Sundays. It’s the coolest market I’ve seen. Many people, and few tourists. The easiest one to access to is located one minute away from the exit of the station Thailand Cultural Center (MRT). Walk to the main Shopping Mall. The market is just behind.
  • The Big C: It’s the Thai supermarket. You can find these everywhere. Every night, a small market opens up at the entrance. Nothing costs more than 100 baht.

 

Clubbing in Bangkok

In Bangkok, the evenings are quite incredible, and you are spoiled for choice.

To get off to a slow start, there are many restaurants or pubs where bands perform in the early evening or just a solo singer with his guitar.

Have a cocktail on a rooftop with a breathtaking view of the city. Several hotels offer these kinds of spots. This is one of the rare occasions when you will be asked to be dressed appropriately, and by that I mean men simply need to wear shoes (instead of flip flops) and long pants.

bangkok rooftop

Finally, you can do one club after another. Most of the time, you can find a few in the same area. The most famous is  « RCA ». There clubs are literally close to each other. You also can go to Thonglor Soi 10. There, I recommand the club Demo. These clubs are mainly attended by Thais so it’s much nicer than those where there are only white people and whores. Know that the more whites there are in a club, the more whores there will be. For lovers of electro music, head for the Glow.

If you want to experiment something untraditionnal, go to Maggie Choo’s. You can go there for a concert or for clubbing. You will not regret it.

In general, clubs close around 2-3am. Fortunately, there are some after party. As a bonus, there is a Mc Donald’s are open 24 hours a day, so go there straight to eat and avoid a hangover.

 

Where to sleep in Bangkok

I advise to book a luxury condo on Airbnb. These condos usually include a swimming pool, a gym, etc. From 30 euros per night, you can find great offers. You will meet even fewer tourists than in a hotel, and enjoy the same level of comfort. This can be an opportunity to meet locals.

Take a flat next to Thonglor or Ari subway. These are less dense neighborhoods than the center of Sukhumvit, accessible by subway, and very popular with young hipsters. It’s perfect for a local experience.

About hotels, I’ve heard good things about the Novotel on Sukhumvit.

Staying in the area of Sukhumvit is more interesting than Khao San Road because you will come across less tourists, and you have the advantage of having access to the subway.

There is no lack of nice hotels for a reasonable price. I have heard many good things about the Novotel.

Don’t follow the french Lonely Planet that recommand the Nana City Inn. Cause I did. And it’s a hotel for prostitution.

 

 

Transportation

The tuk-tuk: it’s a tourist scam. They are expensive, and they never drive you where you want.

The metro: MRT or Skytrain, it’s clean, modern, fast, and cold.

The taxi: it is the most common means of transport. The “Meter” is mandatory. If the driver refuses to turn on the meter, take another taxi. You won’t have to wait long to find one. When taking a taxi at the airport, they impose a charge of 50 baht.

Motorcycle taxis: It is a practical way to cover small distances without experiencing traffic jams. They charge 5 baht per kilometer.

The bus: It’s very local and ridiculously cheap. The problem is that buses are only used on major avenues, and it’s hard to find a bus plan.

The boat: It is a means of common transport. It is used for Chao Praya from one bank to another, or on its tributaries, like a metro. It is inexpensive and typical.

 

Bangkok, I miss you

The best advice I can give for your stay in Bangkok is to let yourself go with the flow of the city as if you lived there. Do not try to do a lot of things in one day because the hyper dynamism of this city will exhaust you faster than you imagine. Especially since you are likely to already be tired after 12 hours of flight. So try to enjoy the city without getting tired. If you let yourself be carried away by the energy of this city, you will realize that it is magical.

If you want to experiment a real tradition life in Bangkok, I will give you the name of my favorite area in the world. There is no sightseeing to visit, but life is sweet, peaceful and beautiful.

town in town bangkok

town in town bangkok

town in town bangkok

Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !

Leave a Reply

Bangkok, ville magique

bangkok

Bangkok, capitale de la Thaïlande, est une ville magique.

Trop bruyante, trop polluée, trop de ci ou trop de ça, Bangkok est souvent boudée des touristes. Pourtant, elle a tant à offrir. C’est une ville qui s’apprivoise, car au milieu du « trop » qui effraye, elle regorge de choses incroyables.

La preuve est que tous ceux qui ont pris le temps de découvrir cette ville, touristes ou expats, l’adorent.

Ma vie à Bangkok

Lors de mon premier voyage en Thaïlande, j’ai vu Bangkok comme une jungle urbaine. Je ne m’attendais pas à autant de modernité, de grattes-ciel, de centres commerciaux, de voitures, etc. En effet, j’étais surprise de découvrir une ville plus moderne que les capitales européennes. Peu à peu, j’ai compris qu’elle avait une énergie de dingue. C’était décidé, j’y retournerai.

romy in bangkok

Depuis, j’y suis allée trois fois trois mois. J’y ai travaillé, ce qui m’a permis d’y vivre au rythme des locaux. J’ai pris le temps de m’y perdre, de choisir des rues au hasard, de visiter les temples, d’enchaîner les soirées, et de dévaliser les marchés.

bangkok prayer

Et j’ai découvert une ville incroyable. Certes, il y a des embouteillages. Mais est-ce que c’est plus facile de circuler sur le périph parisien aux heures de pointes ? Ce trafic si dense témoigne d’une chose : Bangkok est une ville qui ne dort pas. Elle est sans cesse en mouvement. Tout y est possible.

bangkok

bangkok

Les temples et monuments

Bangkok offre beaucoup de temples à visiter. Je les ai presque tous faits. Dans l’ensemble, ils ne sont pas exceptionnels. Si vous faites l’impasse dessus, ce n’est pas très grave pour votre vie. Attention, la plupart des temples ferment leurs portes vers 16h. Si vous tenez à en voir, voici ceux que je recommande.

  • Golden Moutain : facile d’accès et avec une jolie vue en prime.

Golden Moutain Bangkok

Golden moutain bangkok

  • Wat Tephtidaram Worawihan et Loha Prasart : situés juste en face de la Golden Moutain, ces temples sont assez impressionnants et c’est agréable de s’y promener.

wat bangkok

  • Wat Arun : mon préféré, le plus ancien.

Wat arun Bangkok

wat arun bangkok

Khao San Road

Khao San Road est le quartier des backpackers. Ce n’est pas du tout représentatif de Bangkok car ça n’a rien à voir avec le reste de la ville. La preuve, c’est qu’il n’y a pas de Thaïlandais qui y vivent.

Les côtés cool de Khao San Road :

  • Tous les soirs, il y a un petit marché qui s’y organise dans les rues. C’est parfait pour acheter vos derniers souvenirs.
  • Le quartier est relativement proche de certains monuments très prisés par les touristes.
  • C’est plein de bars et clubs en tout genre, et même des clubs de musiques thaïlandaises. Donc si vous voulez vous déhancher, vous trouverez toujours un club à Khao San Road.
  • Enfin, si c’est le tout premier voyage de votre vie et que les Thaïlandais vous effrayent, alors rassurez-vous, vous resterez entre blancs à Khao San Road.

Les côtés moins cool de Khao San Road :

  • Il n’y a que des blancs qui se prennent pour les rois du monde.
  • C’est loin de l’aéroport, donc ça vous coûtera nettement plus cher en taxi, sans par des embouteillages. Et c’est loin des quartiers les plus cool.
  • C’est très bruyant. Il y a de fortes chances pour que votre chambre donne sur un club, donc n’espérez pas dormir de bonne heure tôt.
  • La nourriture est mauvaise et plus chère qu’ailleurs. Heureusement, il y a des pharmacies.

Si vous voulez vraiment tenter l’expérience, je recommande de dormir au Ram Buttri Village. C’est un bon rapport qualité/prix, même si le personnel est infâme.

Sukhumvit

Sukhumvit est le nom d’une grande avenue qui traverse le quartier économique de Bangkok qui témoigne bien de l’énergie de la ville. Modernité et tradition y sont juxtaposées mais son effervescence peut vite épuiser.

Démarrez votre balade par le MBK qui est un marché de seconde main pour téléphone. C’est l’occasion de faire réparer son écran d’ iPhone ou d’acheter une coque rigolote. Faites le chemin à pieds jusqu’au Siam Paragon car c’est plein de petites boutiques très sympas. Arrêtez-vous au Siam Paragon pour son food-court, ou pour son cinéma en 4D. En plus, il y a toujours un événement organisé sur le parvis de ce mall.

siam paragon bangkok

Petite astuce pour les filles : dans les centres commerciaux les toilettes sont toujours propres !

bangkok

Une fois la nuit tombée, les rues se transforment pour laisser place à un autre univers, celui des filles et des hommes de joie, de l’alcool et du sexe. Il faut le prendre au second degré. La première fois, j’étais très jeune, et cela m’avait choquée de voir autant de putes au mètre carré. Puis j’ai compris que cela faisait parti du décor. La plupart des filles n’ont pas le choix, les ladyboy ont un sens de l’humour incroyable, et ce n’est pas leur faute si nos concitoyens européens ont tant besoin de s’y vider les couilles.

Vous pouvez même pousser le délire du côté de Nana pour les spectacles de ladyboy. C’est assez drôle. Néanmoins, faites attention à votre bière. On vous l’apporte déjà ouverte car on y a mis un petit cachet d’amphétamine pour vous rendre plus joyeux et  plus consommateur…

bangkok nana

Silom

Silom est une autre artère économique de Bangkok à proximité du Lumpini Park. Personnellement je préfère le dynamisme de Sukhumvit. Mais c’est à voir aussi. Malgré le Lumpini Park, je trouve le quartier de Silom plus sombre, et moins aéré.

Néanmoins, si vous rêvez d’un ping-pong show, c’est dans ce coin là que ça se passe. Ne vous attendez à rien de sexy. En effet, les femmes qui font le show ont eu plusieurs grossesses…

Le shopping à Bangkok

Bangkok est le paradis du shopping. Chaque fois que j’y vais, j’arrive avec un sac de 2kg, et je repars avec 25kg. On peut tout y acheter pour des prix dérisoires.

  • Les centres commerciaux : Certains centres commerciaux comme le Siam Paragon n’ont que des boutiques de luxe de marques mondialement connues. D’autres comme le Platinium à Sukhumvit, ou l’Union Mall à Lad Prao présentent des boutiques locales et pas chères du tout.
  • Chatuchak Market est le marché le plus incroyable. C’est immense, on y trouve tout. C’est ouvert tous les samedis et dimanches. Il se situe au terminus de la station de métro MRT. Il vaut vraiment le coup d’œil.
  • Train Market, Rot Fai Talat. A l’origine, ce marché du vintage s’était installé dans une gare abandonnée. Depuis les commerçants ont été délogés, et le marché a ouvert ses portes ailleurs. C’est le marché le plus cool que j’ai vu. Beaucoup de monde, et peu de touriste. On en trouve 2 dans la ville. Ils sont ouverts du jeudi au dimanche soir. Le plus facile d’accès est celui qui se trouve à la sortie du métro Thailand Cultural Center (MRT). Marchez jusqu’à l’Esplanade Shopping Mall qui est sur l’avenue principal, et traversez le centre commercial. Le marché est installé juste derrière.
  • Le Big C. C’est le supermarché thaï. On en trouve un peu partout. Tous les soirs, un petit marché s’installe à son entrée. Rien n’y coûte plus de 100 bahts.

Sortir à Bangkok

A Bangkok, les soirées sont assez incroyables. Ceux sont des soirées que vous n’oublierez pas.

Commencez en douceur dans un pub ou restaurant avec un live show. Parfois c’est un mec seul avec sa guitare qui fait des reprises, ou c’est tout un groupe.

Sirotez un cocktail depuis le rooftop d’un hôtel avec une vue imprenable sur la ville. C’est une des rares occasions où on vous demandera d’être bien habillé. J’entends par là qu’il suffit de chaussures fermées, et d’un pantalon long pour messieurs.

bangkok rooftop

Enfin, écumez les clubs de la ville. Ils sont souvent regroupés dans un même quartier. Le plus connu est RCA où plusieurs clubs se situent les uns à côtés des autres. Un autre que j’apprécie est celui Thonglor Soi 10. J’y recommande le Demo. Il s’agit de clubs essentiellement fréquentés par des Thaïlandais donc ils sont plus sympas que ceux où il n’y a que des blancs et des putes. Sachez que plus il y aura de blancs dans un club, plus il y aura de putes, donc oubliez le Nest. Pour les amateurs de musique électro, direction le Glow.

Pour des soirées plus arty et inattendues, allez chez Maggie Choo’s. Vous pouvez y aller tôt pour un concert ou un spectacle, ou plus tard pour le club. Vous ne le regretterez pas.

La plupart des clubs ferment vers 2-3h du matin. Heureusement, il existe quelques after. N’hésitez pas à me demander les noms.

Où dormir à Bangkok ?

Je conseille de prendre un appartement sur Airbnb dans un condo de luxe, car ces condos ont un super standing avec piscine, salle de sport, etc. Dès 30 euros la nuit, vous pouvez trouver de supers offres. Vous y croiserez encore moins de touristes que dans un hôtel, et pour le même confort. C’est en fait un meilleur contexte pour sympathiser avec des locaux.

Aussi, choisissez un appart du côté des métros Thonglor ou Ari. En effet, ce sont des quartiers moins denses que le centre de Sukhumvit, accessibles en métro, et très fréquentés par les jeunes hipsters. C’est parfait pour une expérience une bien locale.

Pour les hôtels, j’ai entendu beaucoup de bien du Novotel sur Sukhumvit.

Le Routard recommande le Nana City Inn à Sukhumvit aussi. Ne faites pas la même erreur que moi en suivant leurs conseils. C’est un hôtel de passe.

Les transports

  • Tuk-tuk Sir ! C’est une arnaque à touriste. En effet, ils sont chers, et ils ne vous conduisent jamais là où vous voulez.
  • Le métro: MRT ou Skytrain, c’est propre, moderne, rapide, et froid.
  • Le taxi : c’est le moyen de transport le plus répandu. Le « Meter» est obligatoire. Si le chauffeur refuse le meter, prenez en un autre. Ce n’est pas la concurrence qui manque. Depuis l’aéroport, il y a une taxe de 50 bahts.
  • Les motos-taxis : C’est un moyen pratique pour couvrir des petites distances sans subir les embouteillages. Il faut compter 5 bahts par kilomètre.
  • Le bus : C’est très local et à des prix ridicules. Le hic c’est que les bus n’empreintes que les grandes avenues, et c’est difficile de trouver un plan des bus.
  • Le bateau: C’est un moyen de transport commun. Il s’utilise pour traverser le Chao Praya d’une rive à l’autre, ou sur ses affluents, comme un métro. C’est bien peu cher.

Bangkok, I miss you

Le meilleur conseil que je puisse donner pour votre séjour à Bangkok, c’est de vous laisser aller au rythme de la ville comme si vous y habitiez. N’essayez pas de faire un maximum de choses dans une même journée car l’hyper dynamisme de cette ville vous épuisera plus vite que vous ne l’imaginez. Surtout qu’il y a des chances pour que vous y arriviez fatigué après 12 heures de vol. Alors essayez de profiter d’en sans vous fatiguer encore plus. Si vous vous laissez porter par l’énergie de cette ville, vous découvrirez qu’elle est magique.

Si vous voulez y passer une bonne semaine et vivre à local, alors je vous donnerai le nom de mon quartier préféré. Il s’agit d’un quartier résidentiel sans monument à visiter, mais où vous pourrez vivre un quotidien tranquille et serein.

town in town bangkok

town in town bangkok

town in town bangkok

Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !

Laisser un commentaire