Top 5 in New York

brooklyn barge

New York, the favorite city of the French, may not be the capital of the United States, but it is often the first city we think about when we talk about this country. Yet, New York is a microcosm that has nothing to do with the rest of the country.

I cannot claim to know the city like a New Yorker, but I have been there several times, and I have tried to visit various things. I even had the chance to experience a storm; it was pretty funny to see. In Manhattan people behaved as if Godzilla and Alien were about to attack at the same time. There was an atmosphere as if the world was ending. Manhattan had been evacuated, the metro has stopped running, and supermarkets had been emptied. In the end, it rained a little more than usual for a night, and that’s it.

The funny thing is that I was forced to leave Manhattan, and I found refuge in Brooklyn. There, people continued to live as if everything was normal. By the way, I strongly recommend staying on the Brooklyn side rather than in Manhattan. Cause in Brooklyn, the atmosphere is less stressful, and it’s much cheaper.

I will not talk about the usual things like the Statue of Liberty or Central Park, but instead share with you some places I discovered that might not be as well known but are definitely worth checking out.

1 – A sunset at the Brooklyn Barge

The Brooklyn Barge is one of the coolest places I’ve seen in New York. I had read a few words in an interview given by a tour guide, such as “the place to be”. I was pleasantly surprised.

The Brooklyn Barge is located in the Williamsburg district, New York’s trendy new neighborhood. This is where all the artists and young hipsters live. Therefore, it’s full of trendy shops and bars, and it’s nice enough to walk around.

brooklyn barge

Once at the Brooklyn Barge, have a drink while enjoying the sunset over the city. You will have a breathtaking view of the buildings that surround you, all in a nice and relaxed atmosphere. They also organize there quite regularly. Remember to check the program.

brooklyn barge

Important: The Brooklyn Barge is only open during the summer season, from early May to around October. Given the cold winter weather in New York, I imagine you will wait for the nice weather to visit this city.

Brooklyn Barge

3 Milton Street, Brooklyn, 11222

brooklyn barge

2 – A walk on Chelsea Green Alley – High Line Park

The upscale neighborhood of Chelsea in New York is a corner where you risk walking a lot, as most guides recommend. You will discover the Chelsea Market, which I did not find incredible in itself. However, do not forget to walk along the Green Alley High Line Park, built above the Market, between the buildings. Around 2.3 km long, this is where New Yorkers working in the area take their lunch break in the afternoon to aerate. It’s also inspired by our Parisian Coulée Verte.

High Line Park

3 – A massage in Chinatown

What’s cool in New York, unlike Los Angeles, is that it’s a city you can visit while walking. Then there is so much to see in New York, so you have to walk a lot, but really a lot! So after a few days, you will have legs like jelly.

So why not enjoy a 1 hour massage in Chinatown to relax and get back on your feet? You will surely pass through this district at least once, so combine the useful with the pleasant. As there are massage parlors on every corner, you’ll be sure to remember.

I randomly tried the Fishion Herb Center (ok, thanks to the recommendations of Google), and I don’t regret it. They mainly offer Chinese massages, so expect the masseur to press hard on the vital points. This will get you back on your feet, and you will be able to use your legs again. Expect to pay around $45 for an hour, to which you will need to add a tip of at least $5.

Fishion Herb Center

107 Mott Street, New York, 10013

Fishion Herb Center

Fishion Herb Center

4 – Live Music at the Apollo Theater

The Apollo is THE mythical New York Theater of the Harlem district where all the greatest voices of soul and jazz have performed. Every Wednesday evening at 19:30, and since 1934, is Amateur Night Show. This is an opportunity to discover new talent. This is where some of the greatest artists performed before they became famous: James Brown, Stevie Wonder, Ella Fitzgerald, The Jacksons 5 or Lauryn Hill.

You cannot go to New York without stopping there unless you do not like music.

Apollo Theater

253 W 125th St, New York, 10027

Apollo Theater

 

5 – A break at the Eisenberg Sandwich Shop in New York

I was obliged to honor my name, Eisenberg. Even though I do not think I have any connection with those who founded the Eisenberg Sandwich Shop.

This one is super easy to find. It is located at the very beginning of 5th Avenue at number 174. So, if you are planning to stroll through Central Park or go shopping on 5th Avenue, the Eisenberg Café will be on your way. In addition, it’s open every day.

On the menu, they remind you that they have contributed to New Yorkers’ cholesterol since 1929. The message is clear: Here you will find no dish for vegans or the lactose-intolerant, nothing without gluten or fructose. Instead, the offer real New York food: omelets, pastrami, corned beef, burgers, shmoopies, or bacon-peanut-butter sandwiches (yes, they exist!). The decor is traditional. One wonders if it has really changed since 1929. So for a few dollars, take a break at the Eisenberg Sandwich Shop, and enjoy.

Eisenberg's Sandwich

Eisenberg's

Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !

Leave a Reply

Top 5 des sorties cool à faire à New York

brooklyn barge

New York, ville préférée des Français, n’est peut-être pas la capitale des Etats-Unis, mais c’est souvent la première ville à laquelle on pense lorsque l’on évoque ce pays. Pourtant, New York est un microcosme qui n’a rien à voir avec le reste du pays.

Je ne peux pas prétendre connaître la ville comme une New-yorkaise, mais j’y suis allée plusieurs fois, et j’ai essayé de visiter des choses variées. J’ai même eu la chance d’y vivre une tempête, c’était assez drôle à voir. A Manhattan les gens se comportaient comme si Godzilla et Alien s’apprêtaient à débarquer en même temps. Il y avait une ambiance de fin du monde. Manhattan avait été évacué, il n’y avait plus aucun métro qui fonctionnait, les supermarchés avaient été vidés.

Au final, il a plu un peu plus que d’habitude le temps d’une nuit, et c’est tout. Le truc rigolo c’est que j’ai été obligée de quitter Manhattan, et j’ai trouvé refuge à Brooklyn. Là-bas, les gens continuaient de vivre comme si tout était normal. A propos, je conseille fortement de loger du côté de Brooklyn plutôt qu’à Manhattan, car l’ambiance y est moins stressante, et c’est nettement moins cher.

Je ne parlerai pas des choses habituelles comme la Statue de la Liberté ou Central Park, mais je vais essayer de donner des idées de choses moins connues et tout aussi cool à faire à New York.

1 – Un coucher de soleil au Brooklyn Barge

La Brooklyn Barge est un des endroits les plus cool que j’ai pu voir à New York. J’avais lu quelques mots dessus dans une interview donnée par une guide touristique, comme « the place to be ». J’avais été agréablement surprise.

Déjà, la Brooklyn Barge se situe dans le quartier de Williamsburg qui est le nouveau quartier trendy de New York. C’est là que tous les artistes et jeunes hipsters habitent. C’est donc plein de boutiques et de bars tendances, et c’est assez agréable de s’y promener.

brooklyn barge

Une fois arrivé à la Brooklyn Barge, prenez un verre tout en profitant du coucher du soleil sur la ville. Vous aurez une vue imprenable sur les buildings qui vous entourent, le tout dans une ambiance sympa et décontracté. Ils y organisent assez régulièrement des événements. Pensez à regarder le programme.

brooklyn barge

Important : la Brooklyn Barge n’est ouverte que pendant la belle saison, de début mai à octobre environ. Etant donné le froid qu’il fait en hiver à New York, j’imagine que vous profiterez plutôt des beaux jours pour visiter cette ville.

Brooklyn Barge

3 Milton Street, Brooklyn, 11222

 

brooklyn barge

2 – Une promenade sur l’Allée Verte New York – High Line Park

Le quartier huppé de Chelsea à New York est un coin où vous risquez fortement de vous promener, car la plupart des guides le recommande. Vous y découvrirez le Chelsea Market, que je n’ai pas trouvé incroyable en soi. Néanmoins, ne manquez pas de vous promener sur l’Allée Verte – High Line Park, construite au-dessus du Chelsea Market, entre les buildings. Longue de 2,3 km, c’est là que les New-yorkais qui travaillent dans le coin prennent leur pause déjeuner du midi afin de s’aérer. Puis c’est inspiré de notre Coulée Verte parisienne.

High Line Park New York

3 – Un massage à Chinatown

Ce qui est cool à New York, contrairement à Los Angeles, c’est que c’est une ville que l’on peut visiter en marchant. Puis il y a plein de choses à voir à New York, donc on est amené à marcher beaucoup, mais vraiment beaucoup ! Donc après quelques jours, vous aurez les jambes en compote.

Alors pourquoi ne pas profiter d’une heure de massage dans le quartier de Chinatown afin de se détendre et de se remettre sur pieds ? Vous passerez forcément par ce quartier au moins une fois, alors autant joindre l’utile à l’agréable. Comme il y a des salons de massage à tous les coins de rue, vous ne risquez pas d’oublier.

J’ai tenté le Fishion Herb Center un peu au hasard (bon ok, grâce aux recommandations de Google), et je n’ai pas regretté. Ici on pratique surtout les massages chinois, donc attendez-vous à ce que le masseur appuie bien fort sur les points vitaux. Ça remet sur pieds, et vous retrouverez l’usage de vos jambes. Comptez 45$ pour une heure, auxquels il vous faudra ajouter un tips de 5$ minimum.

Fishion Herb Center

107 Mott Street, New York, 10013

Fishion Herb CenterFishion Herb Center

4 – Live Music à l’Apollo Theater

L’ Apollo est LA salle mythique de New York du quartier de Harlem. Toutes les plus grandes voix de la soul et du jazz s’y sont produites.

Le top du top c’est l’Amateur Night Show du mercredi soir. Cet événement existe depuis 1934.  C’est l’occasion de découvrir de nouveaux talents. C’est ainsi que certains des plus grands artistes s’y sont produits avant même d’être connus : James Brown, Stevie Wonder, Ella Fitzgerald, The Jacksons 5 ou encore Lauryn Hill.

Vous ne pouvez pas aller à New York sans vous y arrêter, sauf si vous n’aimez pas la musique.

Apollo Theater

253 W 125th St, New York, 10027

Apollo Theater

5 – Une pause à l’Eisenberg Sandwich Shop de New York

J’étais obligée de faire honneur à mon nom, Eisenberg. Bien que je ne pense pas avoir le moindre lien de parenté avec ceux qui ont fondé l’Eisenberg Sandwich Shop.

Celui-ci est super facile à trouver. Il se situe au tout début de la 5ème avenue au numéro 174. Donc si vous avez prévu de vous balader dans Central Park ou de faire du shopping sur la 5ème avenue, le Eisenberg Café sera sur votre chemin. En plus, c’est ouvert tous les jours.

Sur le menu, on vous rappelle qu’il contribue au taux de cholestérol des New-yorkais depuis 1929. La couleur est annoncée. Ici pas de plat vegan, sans gluten, sans lactose, sans fructose, sans rien. Cependant on vous propose de la vraie nourriture new-yorkaise : des omelettes, du pastrami, du corned beef, des burgers, du shmoopie, ou encore des sandwich bacon/peanut butter (si si, ça existe !). La déco est traditionnelle. On se demande même si elle a vraiment été changée depuis 1929. Alors pour quelques dollars à peine, faites une pause au Eisenberg’s Sandwich Shop, et régalez-vous.

Eisenberg's Sandwich New York

Eisenberg's

Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !

Laisser un commentaire