Marina Ho

 

Who is Marina Ho ?

Marina Ho is former model turned painter. Her workshop is in Belleville, Paris, between pho’s and bo-buns, which remind her of her Vietnamese origins.

Marina Ho lives in a souplex, that she needs to protect herself from the outside world. The ground floor is fully equipped for her to indulge in her passion: painting. She always dresses in black, she loves classical music or Sigur Ros. She loves the great painters, movies which take her on a trip, paintings in warm colours. Although this might all seem pretty dark at first glance, I find it mesmerizing and touching. She has this deep voice that soothes you, and no word that she speaks is chosen at random. In another life she would maybe be a storyteller. She is definitely beautiful, but her beauty is one of lovely fragility, one that reflects both a strong woman and a little girl that anything could break. These are the reasons why I had the desire to write this portrait.

The first time I saw Marina Ho (she will certainly not remember), I worked with her sister, Laura, who is an actor and a model as well. Marina worked in the same photo studio this day, and  she came to say hello to her sister. Judging by Laura’s excitement, I quickly understood that there was a strong bond between the two. Once I saw her at the entrance of the set, I was captivated by her charisma and the way she looked at her little sister.

It was only a few years later that I had the chance to make her acquaintance at the filming of the movie Le Capital by Costa Gavras. On a side note, we were filming in the sculpture hall of the louvre, which is extraordinarily beautiful, and as a historian, this remains one of the best memories that my profession has allowed me to experience. Obviously the filming of a movie is always a long process, so we had some time to talk to each other. Having the same taste in movies, we were able to talk for hours. That day I already got a glimpse of her fragility.

From all the people that I have interviewed, Marina is the only one who said to me “you’re going to let me read it first, right?”. Maybe she feels uncomfortable having people talking about her. Or she is worried that I will distort her words (personally, I think it’s a little bit of both). Anyway, I don’t write these articles to reprint word for word what the artists tell me, but to express what it is exactly that fascinates me. To her request, I just wanted to smile and reassure her “don’t worry, everything will be fine”.

Marina Ho was born a painter. It’s in her heart. She speaks about is passionately. It was her dad, and architect, who sparked her love for the visual arts. She grew up with a pencil in her hand. As a child, Marina was always drawing, continuously, during recess or when she was at home. She had already closed herself off from the outside world to express herself on paper.  She drew giraffes, dragons with three heads. Marina created a cartoon where the hero was a pencil, and therefore had no legs and could move very quickly.

But at the age of twelve, reality suddenly kicked in. The divorce of her parents and the loss of her imagination. She put her crayons and her drawings in a box and didn’t touch them until she was 28. During all these years, her pencils served as nothing more than something to write cheques with. She felt dead inside, deprived of her means to express herself. She lived with her dad until the age of 17, when she left the house with nothing in her pocket. Marina started taking odd jobs as a model. It was an easy way to make some money and be independent, and as it was a business built on relationships. It taught her to express herself towards others.

Bjork’s performance in Dancer in the Dark by Lars von Trier was a revelation for her: she loves “tormented souls”. Marina enrolled in acting classes with the goal of becoming an actress. Acting was a way to escape reality. She chose the Cours Florent, which ended up not suiting her because it was all too formal. For her presentation at the end of the year, she chose to write a parricide, which shocked everybody. She feels like a UFO, misunderstood, and on top of that she has her looks going against her. Everyone is always quick to classify her as a “pretty girl”, while this is not something that interests her.

 

As fate would have it, an encounter at the age of 28 opened her eyes and made her gain confidence in herself. It was like a 2nd birth. The child inside her had been reborn. She opened her box and took out her pencil. Marina Ho rediscovered old drawings. She identified significant details which made her aware of certain things, like closed doors or keys left on the floor, because, drawing is a bit like free associative writing.

During the next two years, she learned to tame the pencil. After she began painting with oil of course, as it is nobler, more sensual, and also more technical. She would have loved to be a student at the Fine Arts with her pouch under her arm. Marina still needed to learn how to paint, as well as to learn to be patient, because the time it takes for paint to dry can be very long. The courses she took with several teachers were disappointing because they were too formal. To her, they were cheaters who were content with copying without necessarily knowing how to draw. The technique is only used to provide accuracy. But it isn’t the technique that evokes emotion. She was only satisfied by the education provided by David Boulanger, a professional painter, who offered her another perspective than the other “by-the-book” teachers. And at the age of 30, Marina had her first exposition.

Marina Ho loves emotions. Her paintings are not entertainment. They are nothing but personal. It’s an expression of her childhood and of her experience. She gets much of her inspiration from movies, especially those in black and white. It’s not surprising that she references film-makers like Hanele, Kurosawa, Vinterbeg, Carax and Dolan.

Marina has painted all her lovers, and the people that touched her, even her Vietnamese grandmother. She never knew her but who is a symbol for her. But she never managed to paint her sister. She loves her too much and fears that she will not be able to adequately express the extent of her love in the painting. Marina paints what she finds beautiful. She is fascinated by abandoned shoes. Not a day goes by without her finding some in the streets, well positioned, in pairs. She wonders how they got there, who left them there to continue barefoot. The shoes represent the experience, time, the journey that an individual has travelled. She is also a big fan of Van Gogh’s slippers.

Marina also enjoys to paint atypical and marginal people who she crosses in the street. She would love to have a model pose for her, but has never dared to ask anyone. Like this she is not dependant on other people. In the absence of living beings, she uses her own drawings as support, or photos of herself, except when she paints something spontaneously. Up until this point, her work was mainly focussed on portraits, but gradually, she is beginning to paint landscapes. Because ultimately, it is the environment in which we evolve that affects what we are.

Sometimes she doesn’t paint anything for weeks, because she needs time to mature. The artist is in the making. This may be unfortunate, but it’s necessary. In the meantime, she practices her drawing, or binge-watches movies, and comes back with a range of emotions to paint.. or with the enthusiasm of picking her paint brush up again.

When I ask her what her daily life looks like, she replies without hesitation “torment“. While this may sound pessimistic, it is actually the opposite! The real problem is that she would like to stop time, which is why she captures moments and movements in her paintings. Marina struggles with the reality of time running against her. She is angry at the concept of death and doesn’t understand why we invented such a thing. She loves life so much that she doesn’t want to leave, and it is when she paints that she stops thinking about it and is able to let go.

Marina Ho prefers the light of a candle in the darkness to that of sunlight. The light of the candle is a thing of beauty which emanates into something dark. It is the light in the darkness that symbolizes hope. This is why, in her paintings, she tries to freeze the moment, which is necessarily an emotion, and therefore a moment of life and hope. She told me that if she wouldn’t like other people, she would not be in this world anymore. Marina is a humanist in her own way, with a brush.

 

To see her work:

http://marinaho.com/

https://www.facebook.com/Ho-marina-196098940547561/

Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !

Leave a Reply

Marina Ho

Qui est Marina Ho ?

Marina Ho, ancienne mannequin devenue peintre. Son atelier est à Belleville, à quelques pas pho et des bo-buns qui lui rappellent ses origines vietnamiennes.

Marina Ho habite dans un souplex dont elle a besoin pour se protéger du monde. Le rez-de-chaussée est entièrement aménagé pour s’adonner à sa passion : la peinture. Elle s’habille toujours en noir. Elle adore la musique classique ou Sigur Ros. Marina aime les grands peintres, les films qui vous prennent aux tripes, les tableaux aux couleurs chaudes. Même si cet ensemble peut sembler très sombre au premier regard, je la trouve envoûtante et touchante. Elle a cette voix grave qui vous apaise, et chacun des mots qu’elle utilise n’est pas choisi au hasard. Dans une autre vie elle aurait pu être conteuse. Certes, elle est belle, mais sa beauté est d’une fragilité charmante. Sa beauté traduit à la fois une femme forte, et une petite fille qu’un rien pourrait abîmer. Voilà en quelques sortes les raisons qui m’ont données envie d’écrire son portrait.

La première fois que j’ai vu Marina Ho, elle ne s’en rappelle certainement pas, je travaillais avec Laura, sa sœur comédienne et mannequin. Ce jour-là, Marina était dans le même studio photo, et elle était venue dire bonjour à sa sœur. Etant donné l’excitation de celle-ci, j’ai de suite compris qu’il y avait quelque chose de fort entre les 2. Une fois que je l’ai aperçue à l’entrée du plateau, j’ai remarqué son charisme, et le regard attendrissant qu’elle portait sur sa petite sœur.

C’est seulement quelques années plus tard que j’ai eu l’occasion de faire sa connaissance, sur le tournage du film Le Capital de Costa Gavras. Pour la petite anecdote, on tournait dans la salle des sculptures françaises du Louvre, qui est d’une beauté inouïe, et étant historienne, cela reste un des plus beaux souvenirs que mon métier m’a offerte. Evidemment, un tournage c’est toujours très long, on a donc eu le temps de discuter. Aimant le même genre de films, on a pu parler cinéma. Ce jour-là, j’avais déjà pu entrevoir sa fragilité.

De toutes les personnes que j’ai pu interviewées, Marina Ho est la seule qui m’a dit « tu me feras lire d’abord, hein ? ». Mal à l’aise que l’on parle d’elle, ou inquiète que je déforme ses propos, en fait je crois que c’est un peu des deux. De toute façon, je n’écris pas ces articles pour retranscrire mots pour mots ce que les artistes me disent, mais pour parler de ce qui me touche chez eux. En ce qui concerne sa requête, j’avais juste envie de lui sourire et de lui dire « ne t’inquiètes pas, tout ira bien ».

Bon, revenons sur le parcours de Marina Ho. Marina est une peintre de naissance. Elle a ça dans l’âme, et en parle avec passion. C’est son père, architecte, qui lui transmet l’amour des arts plastiques. Elle grandit avec un crayon dans les mains. Enfant, Marina dessine tout le temps, sans arrêt, pendant la récréation ou dès qu’elle est chez elle. Elle se ferme déjà au monde extérieur pour retranscrire le sien sur le papier. Elle dessine des girafes, des dragons à trois têtes. Marina crée une B.D. où le héros est un crayon qui n’a donc pas de jambes et peut se déplacer très vite.

Mais à l’âge de douze ans la réalité de la vie la rattrape : le divorce de ses parents et la perte de ses illusions. Elle met son crayon et ses dessins dans une boite, qu’elle ne touchera plus jusqu’à ses 28 ans. Pendant toutes ces années, les crayons ne lui servent plus qu’à remplir des chèques. Marina se sent comme morte car privée de son moyen d’expression. Elle vit avec son père, puis à 17 ans elle part de la maison avec rien en poche. Elle cumule les petits boulots et devient mannequin. C’est un moyen facile de gagner sa vie et d’être indépendante. Puis c’est un métier relationnel, ça lui apprend donc à s’exprimer avec les autres.

La prestation de Bjork dans Dancer in the Dark de Lars Von Trier est une révélation pour elle : elle aime les personnages écorchés. Elle s’inscrit à des cours de théâtre avec le projet de devenir comédienne car jouer est un moyen de fuir la réalité. Elle choisit les cours Florent qui finalement ne lui correspondent pas, c’est beaucoup trop formel. Pour sa présentation de fin d’année, elle choisit d’écrire un parricide, ce qui choque. Elle se sent comme un ovni, incomprise, et puis son physique lui joue défaut. On la classe systématiquement dans les rôles de jolies filles alors que ce n’est pas ce qui l’intéresse.

Le hasard de la vie amène Marina Ho à faire une rencontre à l’âge de 28 ans qui va lui ouvrir les yeux. Elle prend confiance en elle. C’est comme une 2ème naissance. L’enfant en elle renaît. Elle ouvre sa boite et reprend son crayon. Elle redécouvre ses anciens dessins où elle lit des détails significatifs qui lui font prendre conscience de certaines choses, comme des portes fermées ou des clés laissées par terre. Le dessin c’est un peu comme de l’écriture automatique.

Pendant deux ans, elle apprend à apprivoiser le crayon. Puis elle en arrive à la peinture, à l’huile évidemment, car c’est plus noble, plus sensuel, mais plus technique aussi. Marina aurait adoré être étudiante aux Beaux-arts avec sa pochette sous le bras, mais c’est trop tard. Elle apprend aussi à être patiente, à cause du temps de séchage qui peut être très long. Elle prend des cours avec plusieurs professeurs, qui s’avèrent décevants car trop formels. Marina dit d’eux que ce sont des tricheurs qui se contentent de calquer sans forcément savoir dessiner. Selon elle, la technique sert à apporter de la justesse, à aiguiser son point de vue. Mais, la peinture doit être une émotion spontanée et la technique peut freiner cet élan parfois. La technique et la spontanéité doivent danser ensemble, mais ne jamais se substituer. Elle ne se satisfait que de l’enseignement apporté par David Boulanger, peintre de profession, qui lui offre un autre regard que celui des professeurs trop formatés. Et à 30 ans, Marina fait sa première expo.

Marina Ho est une amoureuse des émotions et de l’instant. Son travail de peintre n’est pas du divertissement, ce n’est que du personnel. C’est parler de son enfance, de son expérience. Elle puise beaucoup son inspiration dans le cinéma, dans les œuvres en noir et blanc. Parmi ses références c’est sans surprise qu’elle cite Haneke, Kurosawa, Vinterberg, Carax ou Dolan.

Marina a peint tous ses amants, et les gens qui l’ont touchée, même sa grand-mère vietnamienne qu’elle n’a pas connue mais qui est un symbole pour elle. Mais elle n’a jamais réussi à peindre sa sœur, elle l’aime trop et craint de ne pas être peindre à la hauteur de son amour. Elle peint ce qu’elle trouve beau. Elle est fascinée par les chaussures abandonnées. Il ne se passe pas une journée sans qu’elle n’en voie dans la rue, bien positionnées, à deux. Elle se demande comment elles sont arrivées là, qui les a laissées là pour repartir pieds-nus. Les chaussures représentent le vécu, le temps, c’est le voyage qu’un individu a parcouru. D’ailleurs elle est complètement fan des Souliers de Van Gogh.

Marina Ho adore aussi les gens atypiques ou les marginaux qu’elle croise dans la rue puis qu’elle va s’amuser à peindre. Elle adorerait avoir un modèle qui pose pour elle, mais elle n’osera jamais le demander à qui que ce soit. Ainsi elle n’est tributaire de personne. A défaut d’un être vivant, elle se sert de ses dessins comme support, ou de photos d’elle-même, sauf lorsqu’elle réalise des peintures spontanées. Jusque là, son travail était surtout porté sur le portrait, mais progressivement, elle commence à peindre des paysages, car finalement, c’est l’environnement dans lequel on évolue qui influe sur ce que nous sommes.

Parfois elle ne peint rien pendant des semaines, parce qu’elle a besoin de mûrir des choses. L’artiste en elle est en gestation. Cela la rend malheureuse, mais c’est nécessaire. Pendant ce temps, elle va s’entraîner à dessiner, ou elle va se gaver de films, et revenir avec un panel d’émotions à peindre… ou avec l’émotion de reprendre ses pinceaux peut-être.

Quand je lui demande c’est quoi son quotidien, c’est sans hésiter qu’elle me répond « le tourment ». Cela peut sembler très pessimiste, mais c’est tout le contraire ! Le vrai problème c’est le temps qu’elle aimerait figer, et c’est pour cela qu’elle fige des instants et des mouvements en peinture. Marina a du mal avec la réalité du temps qui court malgré elle. Elle est très fâchée avec la mort et ne comprend pas pourquoi  on a inventé cette chose là. Elle aime tellement la vie qu’elle ne veut pas partir, et il n’y a que quand elle peint qu’elle n’y pense pas et arrive à lâcher prise.

Marina Ho préfère la lumière d’une bougie dans la pénombre à celle du plein soleil car celle de la bougie est une beauté qui émane dans quelque chose de sombre. C’est la lumière dans les ténèbres qui symbolise l’espoir finalement. C’est pour cela qu’en peinture elle tente de figer l’instant qui est nécessairement une émotion,  et donc un moment de vie et d’espoir. Marina me dit même que si elle n’aimait plus l’être humain, elle ne serait plus de se monde. C’est une humaniste à sa façon, avec des pinceaux.

Pour voir son travail :

http://marinaho.com/

https://www.facebook.com/Ho-marina-196098940547561/

Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !

Laisser un commentaire