Lopburi, kingdom of Monkeys

Lopburi Monkey face

Only 140km north from Bangkok, 3 hours by train and 28 bahts, is an essential step to the north of Thailand. Many tourists simply spend the day there, while it desserves to be visited for few days.

 

It must be said that the old town is small, and the main temples are 5-minute walk from the train station.

 

A little history, Lopburi the beautiful

Lopburi was under Khmer rule until the 17th century, which is why its architecture differs from that of Ayutthaya. It’s a kind of mix both siam and khme cultures.

Then in the 17th century, the king of Ayutthaya, Narai the Great, decided to make Lopburi the second city of his kingdom. Actually, the climate there is a little sweeter than in Ayuttaya, and because the city is located on a tributary of the river Chayo Praya.

For the little anecdote, Louis XIV sent a delegation in 1685 to this part of the world in order to expand his kingdom, and to establish trade with the Orient. The delegation arrived by boat at Lopburi, and despite the beauty of Versailles, they were captivated by the beauty of Lopburi.

Today there is little left of this beauty. Nevertheless, the building in which the French ambassador resided is still standing.

lopburi city 1

The monkeys of Lopburi

The monkeys of Lopburi are the big attraction of the city. In fact, tourists do not really stop there to visit the temples, but rather to see the monkeys. Actually, the monkeys live freely in the city and it’s quite funny to see it.

A few minutes walking from the train station, there is a famous temple, Phra Prang Sam Yod, which is the playground of thousands of macaques. As one approaches the temple, one begins to see them in the street, running everywhere.

Watch out for your glasses, your cap, your hairbands, your camera, or the drink you have in your hands. In a few minutes, it will be gone. And macaques run faster than you. These critters are much smarter than we are.

lopburi monkey temple 1

In lopburi, monkeys are kings and they make the rules

I observed a very interesting scene.

At the entrance to the temple, there are Thais who sell peanut bags to give to the monkeys. Of course, most tourists are too happy to be able to approach these animals and buy a pack of peanuts. So in their left hand, they hold the pack of peanuts and with their right hand they take out a few peanuts and naively approach a monkey. In general, it takes only 5 minutes for a another monkey to arrive at full speed and grab the entire pack of peanuts in the tourist’s left hand. The face of the tourist that understand is stupidity is priceless! The same scene repeats itself every 15 minutes when a new group of tourists arrives.

 

Also, if you decide to spend the night and stay in the city center, remember it is not for nothing that the windows are double-glazed in the guesthouse. I myself had underestimated the danger. I was awakened by a monkey visiting me in my room. I looked at him, he looked at me. He looked at the table where I had all my stuff scattered. I freaked out. He looked at me. And he stole my Twix before running off at full speed. Phew!

The surroundings of Lopburi

In the guesthouses, they hand out maps of the area, because indeed, there are several nice things to go and see. So I grabbed a scooter and I visited the surrondings.

lopburi wat

Less than 10 kilometers away, I discovered a lake at the edge of a hill where the Thais come to bathe and rest on weekends. Mega cool. I visited temples in the valley, including a temple inhabited by bats. Well, the place reeked of urine, so it wasn’t great. Then I continued to the Pasak Chonlasit reservoir. It is a reservoir that was built to regulate the waters of Bangkok. Pretty cool. I always managed to find a makeshift guesthouse, I ate in an all-you-can-eat buffet for 99baths, I did not come across a single white person, and I had a magical time.

lopburi around

lopburi wat

Actually, Lopburi and his surroundings offer a great typical moment of thai life, only 2 hours from the capitale. I highly recommand.

lopburi city

Few words on the Wat Phrabatnampu

Near Lopburi, there is also a famous temple, Wat Phrabatnampu. This place is famous because they where people provide care for AIDS patients. I did not go because I didn’t think I was emotionally strong enough to handle it. I hope that one day I will dare.

While most people would not necessarily associate Thailand with AIDS, due to the trivialization of prostitution, the rate of HIV-positive people is actually very high over there. Even more unfortunate is the fact that AIDS is considered the disease of shame. So patients are often rejected by their families. This temple accepts them, helps them, and cares for them. To visit this temple is to visit people who feel lonely and rejected. It’s giving some of your time to comfort others. So if you are more brave than me, go there.

 

Where to stay ?

Lopburi itself or around, it’s not difficult to find a guesthouse for less than 500 bahts a night.

lopburi wtf
WTF
Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !

One Reply to “Lopburi, kingdom of Monkeys”

  1. […] fait parti du lot des étapes clés, avec Lopburi, Sukkhotai et Chiang Mai, que les tours opérateurs proposent pour découvrir la Thaïlande.  Ces […]

Leave a Reply

Lopburi, le royaume des Singes

Lopburi Monkey face

A seulement 140km de Bangkok, 3 heures de train et 28 bahts, Lopburi est une étape incontournable de la route vers le nord de le Thaïlande. Beaucoup de touristes  y passent simplement la journée sans même y dormir, alors que le coin mérite qu’on s’y arrête quelques jours.

L’avantage c’est que la vieille ville et les principaux temples à visiter sont à 5 minutes à pied de la gare de train, ce qui rend leur accès très facile.

lopburi train

Un peu d’histoire, Lopburi la somptueuse

Lopburi était sous la domination khmère jusqu’au 17ème siècle, c’est pour cela que son architecture diffère de celle d’Ayutthaya. C’est une sorte de mixe architecturale entre l’architecture siamoise et khmer.
Puis au 17ème siècle, une fois sous domination thaï, le roi d’Ayutthaya, Narai le Grand, décida de faire de Lopburi la 2ème ville de son royaume, car le climat y est un peu plus doux qu’à Ayuttaya, et parce que la ville se situe sur un des affluents du fleuve le Chayo Praya.

Pour la petite anecdote, Louis XIV envoya une délégation en 1685 dans cette partie du monde afin de répandre la domination de son royaume, et aussi pour établir des échanges commerciaux avec l’Orient. La délégation arriva par bateau à Lopburi, et malgré la beauté de Versailles, ils furent subjugués par la beauté de Lopburi.
Aujourd’hui il reste peu de vestiges de cette époque. Néanmoins, le bâtiment dans lequel l’ambassadeur français a séjourné est toujours sur pieds.

lopburi city 1

Le Royaume des singes

Les singes de Lopburi sont la grande attraction de la ville. Finalement, les touristes ne s’arrêtent pas vraiment là pour visiter les temples, mais plutôt pour voir les singes. En effet, ils y circulent en toute liberté, et c’est rigolo à voir.

Les macaques ont choisi le temple le Phra Prang Sam Yod comme cour de récréation. Celui-ci se situe à quelques minutes à pied de la gare, donc c’est facile d’accès.
Attention à vos lunettes, à votre casquette, à votre chouchou dans les cheveux, à votre appareil photo, ou à la boisson que vous avez dans vos mains! En quelques minutes, cela aura disparu. Ne cherchez pas à les rattraper, ils courent plus vite. Et ces bestioles sont bien plus intelligentes que nous.

lopburi monkey temple 1

A Lopburi, les singes sont rois et c’est eux qui font la loi !

J’y ai observé une scène très intéressante.

A l’entrée du temple, il y a des Thaïlandais qui vendent des sachets de cacahuètes à distribuer aux singes. Evidemment, la plupart des touristes achètent un paquet de cacahuète pour faire mu-muse avec les singes. Donc dans la main gauche ils tiennent le paquet de cacahuètes. Dans la main droite, ils tiennent une ou deux cacahuète qu’ils tendent naïvement vers un singe. En général, il suffit de 5 minutes  pour qu’un autre singe arrive à toute vitesse et emporte le paquet entier qui se situe dans la main gauche… Pas bête la bête ! C’est le touriste qui se sent idiot. Et la même scène se reproduit toutes les 15 minutes à chaque arrivée d’un nouveau groupe de touristes.

Si vous décidez de loger dans une guesthouse du centre ville, pensez à bien fermer vos fenêtres. Ce n’est pas pour rien qu’elles sont doublées. Moi-même j’avais sous-estimé le danger. J’ai été réveillée en pleine nuit par un singe qui rentrait dans ma chambre. Je l’ai regardé, il m’a regardée. Il a regardé la table où il y avait toutes mes affaires éparpillées. J’ai flippé. Il m’a regardée. Il m’a piquée mon paquet de twix avant de filer à toute vitesse. Ouf !

Les alentours de Lopburi

Les guesthouses de Lopburi donnent des cartes avec les choses à voir dans le coin. Alors j’ai loué un scooter et j’ai passé 2 jours à explorer les alentours.

lopburi wat

A moins de 10 kilomètres, j’ai découvert un lac au bord d’une colline où les Thaïlandais viennent se baigner et se reposer le week-end. Méga cool. J’ai visité des temples dans la vallée, dont un temple habité par les chauves-souris. Bon ça sent fort le pipi, ce n’est pas génial. Puis j’ai continué jusqu’au réservoir de Pasak Chonlasit qui se visite à bord d’un petit train. Très sympa. C’est un réservoir qui régule les eaux de Bangkok. J’ai toujours réussi à trouver une guesthouse de fortune, j’ai mangé dans un buffet à volonté pour 99 bahts, je n’ai pas croisé un seul blanc, et j’ai passé des moments magiques.

lopburi around

lopburi wat
En fait, Lopburi et ses alentours offrent une expérience bien locale et typique, hors de la mégalopole, mais à seulement deux heures de celle-ci. Je recommande sans aucune hésitation.

lopburi city

Quelques mots sur le Wat Phrabatnampu

Dans les alentours de Lopburi, il y a aussi un fameux temple, le Wat Phrabatnampu. Celui-ci est connu parce qu’on y recueille les malades du sida. Je n’y suis pas allée parce que je pense qu’il faut avoir le cœur accroché, et le mien ne l’est peut-être pas assez. Néanmoins j’espère qu’un jour j’oserai.

Malheureusement, on n’en parle pas assez, mais avec la prostitution, le taux de personnes séropositives est élevé dans le pays. Plus malheureux encore, le sida est considéré comme la maladie de la honte. Donc les malades sont souvent rejetés par leur famille. Cependant, ce temple les accepte, les aide, et les soigne. Visiter ce temple, c’est rendre visite à des gens qui se sentent seuls et rejetés. C’est donner un peu de son temps pour réconforter les autres. Alors si vous avez plus de courage que moi, allez-y !

Où dormir ?

Que ce soit dans le centre de Lopburi ou dans les alentours, vous n’aurez aucune difficulté à trouver des guesthouses pour moins de 500 bahts la nuit.

lopburi wtf
WTF
Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !

One Reply to “Lopburi, le royaume des Singes”

  1. […] fait parti du lot des étapes clés, avec Lopburi, Sukkhotai et Chiang Mai, que les tours opérateurs proposent pour découvrir la Thaïlande.  Ces […]

Laisser un commentaire