Koh Samui, the easy island

samui sunset

Koh Samui is the 2nd largest Thai island. It is located in the Gulf of Thailand, in the province of Surat Thani.

Koh Samui, an easy island

Although Koh Samui is a large and developed island, it is nothing like Phuket. Nevertheless, it offers almost as many practical advantages.

For example, the state of the roads is much less catastrophic than on other islands like Koh Tao or Koh Phangan. Especially since the road is rather flat, which leads to fewer accidents.

You will also find all the necessary amenities, whether its shops, restaurants, malls, activities, etc.

There are several villages on the island, so there is something for everyone. You can choose spend an evening with a horde of European teenagers in heat, or isolate yourself in a quiet fishing village. You can adapt your plans according to your mood of the day, without having to change island.

I admit I really like Koh Samui because this island offers a lot of choices. Admittedly, it is not the prettiest, and not everything about it is great. However, it’s very convenient without being overpriced. If this is your first trip to Thailand and you are not sure where to go, then you will not be lost. Or if you are traveling with your family, then Koh Samui can be easier.

 

 

How to get to Koh Samui?

To get to Koh Samui, you have several options depending on how much time you have, and according to your budget.

  • By train. The night train goes from Bangkok to Surat Thani Station. The journey costs about 700 baht in second class with sleeping compartments. The price includes the train + the bus to the port + the ferry. It’s pretty typical and a funny experience. Do not miss the dining car. Attention: it closes at 22h.
  • By bus. In general, the bus is similar to the train, except for that it drops you off directly at the port of Surat Thani, and you will be travelling amongst tourists. Sometimes the bus drops you off at Chumphon Harbor.
  • Direct flight. There are direct flights from Bangkok to Koh Samui with Bangkok Airways from Don Muang Airport. It saves a lot of time, but it comes at a cost. It costs 150 euros per person.
  • By plane to Surat Thani. Air Asia, Nok Air and Thai Airways offer flights to Surat Thani for a reasonable price. You have to add 400 baht for the bus to the port, then 100 baht for the ferry.

bon voyage

 

Lamai

Lamai is not exceptional in itself, but I will repeat myself; it’s convenient. The water is not crystalline, and the sand is not white. But the beach is big, the atmosphere is familiar and nice. There is very good local food as soon as you walk away from the main avenue along the beach, Had Lamai Road. Also, avoid the restaurants that are on this street, as they are only tourist traps.

lamai beach

To see the crystal clear water, you just have to go to Crystal Bay, which is just north of Lamai, just outside the village. Expect to pay around 20 baht per person in a shared taxi, or, for the more adventurous, you can get there by walking for 20 minutes. You won’t regret it.

The funny thing about Lamai is that there are tons of white men riding a scooter with their Thai girlfriend sitting in the back. These men often end up settling there to open a bar for tourists like themselves, that is to say for men in search of local love, to console themselves for a failed first marriage. With an outside look, what can seem very pathetic ends up becoming very funny.

lamai street

Mae Nam

Mae Nam is a family village which is quite nice. The long beach does not offer white sand, but it offers a very relaxed atmosphere that will appeal to those who want to rest.

 

Bophut

The village of Bophut is quite similar to that of Mae Nam, more touristic perhaps. There are a lot of families there. It is a fishing village. This is the perfect opportunity to witness everyday life in Thailand.

 

Lipa Noi

Lipa Noi is a perfect corner for those who wish to combine tranquility and beautiful beaches. You will be a bit far from everything, but if you choose to stay there, you did it for that reason.

 

Chaweng

Chaweng was the beautiful white sand beach of Koh Samui, 20 years ago. Today it is a kind of Ibiza of bad taste. The beautiful beach has given way to tons of soulless resorts. Most of the tourists who stay there are young whites who want to combine beach and party without limit. By the way, if you absolutely want to party, then head to the Arc Bar.

Chaweng can no longer really be considered a village but is more like a real city.

 

Where to stay in Koh Samui

Here are some addresses that I have tested and that I recommend. For the same price, I also found a lot of dumps.

  • Samui guesthouse in Lamai. This is the perfect address when travelling on a tight budget. The price is 500 baht per night during low season, 600 during high season. The rooms are clean and decent. The guesthouse is slightly outside of the brothel area of Lamai, so its quite while the shops and the beach are just a 5 minute walk away. If you continue walking inland for about 3 minutes, there is a small yellow restaurant on the left side of the road where you will find the best green curry in the country.
  • Palm Coco Mantra. This hotel is a jewel. It is located at the northern end of Lamai, among luxury hotels, except that the Palm Coco Mantra offers quite affordable rates compared to its neighbors. In addition, the hotel is relatively small which creates a familiar and pleasant atmosphere. The decor of the rooms is not amazing, but the view is breathtaking, so we do not care. Try to get a room on the first floor to enjoy the view. You will have an almost private beach, with an incredible sunset. By the way, at the end of the day, you will be able to watch women come fishing for seashells when the tide is low.

shellfish samui

shellfish samui

  • Amarin Samui Hotel in Mae Nam. The hotel is ok for 20 euros per night, but not amazing. It is a short walk from shops and the beach.

Avoid sleeping in Crystal Bay because even if the beach is beautiful, the 3 hotels along it are located directly on the side of the road. So you will pay a lot for the constant sound of traffic.

crystal beach

 

crystal bay samui

 

Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !

Leave a Reply

Koh Samui est la 2ème plus grande île thaïlandaise. Elle se situe dans le golfe de Thaïlande, dans la province de Surat Thani.

Koh Samui, une île pratique

Bien que Koh Samui soit une île grande et développée, elle n’a rien de comparable avec Phuket. Néanmoins, elle offre presque autant d’avantages pratiques.

Par exemple, l’état des routes est nettement moins catastrophique que sur les autres îles comme Koh Tao ou Koh Phangan. D’autant plus que la route est plutôt plate. Donc les accidents y sont un moins nombreux.

Aussi on y trouve toutes les commodités nécessaires, que ce soit des magasins, restaurants, malls, activités, etc.

Il y a plusieurs villages sur l’île, donc il y en a pour tous les goûts. Vous pouvez aussi bien passer une soirée avec une horde d’adolescents européens en chaleur, ou choisir de vous isolez dans un tranquille village de pêcheurs. C’est selon votre envie du jour, sans avoir besoin de changer d’île.

J’avoue j’aime beaucoup Koh Samui parce que cette île offre le choix. Certes, ce n’est pas la plus jolie, et tout n’y est pas génial. Mais c’est très pratique sans être hors de prix. Si c’est votre premier voyage en Thaïlande et que vous ne savez pas trop où aller, alors vous n’y serez pas perdu. Ou si vous voyagez en famille, alors Koh Samui peut être plus facile.

Comment se rendre à Koh Samui ?

Pour se rendre à Koh Samui, vous avez plusieurs possibilités selon le temps que vous avez, et selon votre budget.

  • En train. Le train de nuit se prend depuis Bangkok jusqu’à la gare de Surat Thani. Le trajet coûte environ 700 bahts en seconde classe avec des couchettes. Le tarif inclut le train + le bus jusqu’au port + le ferry. C’est assez typique et drôle comme expérience. Ne manquez pas le wagon restaurant. Attention il ferme à 22h.
  • En bus. En général le bus fait le même trajet que le train, sauf qu’il vous dépose directement au port de Surat Thani, et que vous ferez tout le trajet entre touristes. Parfois il vous dépose au port de Chumphon.
  • Vol direct. Il existe des vols directs de Bangkok pour Koh Samui avec la compagnie Bangkok Airways depuis l’aéroport de Don Muang. C’est un gain de temps considérable, mais ça a un coût. Il faut compter 150 euros l’aller par personne.
  • En avion jusqu’à Surat Thani. Les compagnies Air Asia, Nok Air et Thai Airways proposent des vols jusqu’à Surat Thani pour des prix raisonnables. Il faut rajouter 400 bahts pour le bus jusqu’au port, puis 100 bahts pour le ferry.

bon voyage

Lamai

Lamai n’est pas exceptionnel en soi, mais j’ai envie de dire encore une fois, que c’est pratique. L’eau n’est pas cristalline, et le sable n’est pas blanc. Mais la plage est grande, l’ambiance est familiale et sympa. On y trouve de la très bonne nourriture locale dès qu’on s’éloigne de l’avenue principale qui longe la plage, la Had Lamai Road. Par ailleurs, évitez les restaurants qui se situent sur cette rue, ce n’est que des attrapes-touristes.

lamai beach

Pour voir de l’eau cristalline, il vous suffit de vous rendre à la Crystal Bay qui se situe juste au nord de Lamai, à la sortie de la ville. Comptez 20 bahts par personne en taxi collectif, ou 20 minutes de marche pour les plus téméraires. Vous ne le regretterez pas.

La chose assez drôle à Lamai, c’est qu’on y croise des tonnes d’hommes blancs en scooter avec leur chérie thaïlandaise assises à l’arrière. Ces hommes finissent souvent par s’installer là pour ouvrir un bar pour les touristes comme eux, c’est-à-dire pour les hommes à la recherche d’un amour local, pour se consoler d’un premier mariage raté. Avec un regard extérieur, ce qui peut sembler très pathétique finit par devenir très drôle.

lamai street

Mae Nam

Mae Nam est un village familiale qui est tout à fait agréable. La longue plage n’offre pas de sable blanc, mais elle offre une ambiance très décontractée qui  plaira à ceux qui veulent se reposer.

Bophut

Le village de Bophut est assez semblable à celui de Mae Nam, en plus touristique peut-être. On y croise beaucoup de famille. C’est un village de pêcheurs. C’est l’occasion parfaite pour voir une vie thaïlandaise typique.

Lipa Noi

Lipa Noi est un coin parfait pour ceux qui souhaitent allier tranquillité et belles plages. Vous serez un peu loin de tout, mais si vous choisissez de rester là, c’est pour ça.

Chaweng

Chaweng était la belle plage de sable blanc de Koh Samui, il y a 20 ans. Aujourd’hui c’est une sorte d’Ibiza de mauvais goût. La belle plage a laissé place à des tonnes de resorts sans âme. L’essentiel des touristes qui y séjournent sont des jeunes blancs qui veulent allier plage et fête sans limite. A propos, si vous tenez absolument à faire la fête, alors direction le Ark Bar.

Il faut considérer que Chaweng n’est plus un village mais une vraie ville.

Où dormir à Koh Samui ?

Voici quelques adresses que j’ai pu testées et que je recommande. Pour le même prix, j’ai vu beaucoup de choses nazes.

  • Samui guesthouse à Lamai. C’est l’adresse parfaite pour les petites bourses. Le prix est de 500 bahts par nuit en basse saison, 600 en haute saison. Les chambres sont propres et correctes. La guesthouse est légèrement excentré du bordel de Lamai, ce qui permet d’être au calme, tout en étant à 5 minutes à pied des commerces et de la plage. Si vous continuez la route avec la mer dans votre dos, à 3 minutes, il y a un petit restaurant jaune sur le côté gauche qui cuisine le meilleur curry vert du pays.
  • Palm Coco Mantra. Cet hôtel est un bijou. Il est situé à l’extrémité nord de Lamai, au milieu des hôtels de luxe, sauf que le Palm Coco Mantra propose des tarifs tout à fait abordable, comparé à ses voisins. En plus, l’hôtel est relativement petit ce qui crée une ambiance familiale et agréable. La décoration des chambres n’est pas incroyable, mais la vue est imprenable, donc on s’en fout. Par ailleurs, préférez une chambre à l’étage afin de profiter de la vue. Vous aurez une plage quasiment privée, avec un coucher de soleil incroyable. A propos, en fin de journée, vous pourrez y observer des femmes venir pêcher des coquillages lorsque la marée est basse.

shellfish samui

shellfish samui

  • Amarin Samui Hotel à Mae Nam. L’hôtel est correct pour 20 euros par nuit, mais pas incroyable. Il est à quelques minutes à pied des commerces et de la plage.

Évitez de dormir dans la Crystal Bay car même si la plage est magnifique, les 3 hôtels qui la longent sont situés directement sur le bord de la route. Donc vous payerez cher pour avoir le bruit constant des voitures. Néanmoins, n’hésitez pas à y passer un après-midi pour apprécier la beauté de ce petit lagon.

crystal bay koh samui

crystal bay koh samui

Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !