Top 5 of cool things to do in Hamburg

Top 5 Hamburg

 

Hamburg is a port city in the north of Germany. Although much less touristy than Berlin, this city still welcomes a lot of visitors every year who come to see the harbor, the canals and the architecture, even though much of the city was destroyed during WWII.

Even though there is a whole area dedicated to night life, the Reeperbahn, this is not comparable to the nights out in Berlin. Moreover, Hamburg is a business city; rich, residential and quiet. The most amazing thing about this city is that its citizens are literally hamburgers. However, do not expect to eat the best burger of your life here, as from a culinary point of view the city does not have a lot to offer.

If you are staying in Berlin for a while, then take a short trip to Hamburg. Three hours by bus are all it takes. Plan to spend one or two nights there, that’s enough.

As far as I’m concerned, my husband’s family lives there, so I go there regularly. This is why I share with you 5 ideas of nice things to do there, according to the advice of some hamburgers that I know.

 

1 – Walking in the Treppenviertel District

The Treppenviertel district, which translates as “the quarter of stairs”, is undoubtedly the most charming corner of Hamburg. You would not believe you are in town, but more in a holiday resort. It is a residential area on the hillside facing the Elbe River. The houses were built mostly in a Gründerzeit style, which gives them the appearance of doll houses.

Treppenviertel House

All the entrances are brimming with flowers, the streets are paved, and there are small stairways in all directions that accentuate the magical effect of the visit. Simply climb a staircase at random and let yourself be charmed. Apparently there are more than 5000 steps in total.

The banks of the Elbe have been laid out so that you can walk around and even relax on the sand if the weather is suitable.

If the weather is mild, then this is the place to spend your day.

To get there, take the S-Bahn to Blankenese station, then walk in the direction of the Elbe. A walk of less than 10 minutes will get you there.

In order to enjoy the view, and to rest, there is a small cute cafe on the heights that I recommend without hesitation, the Kaffeegarten Schuldt.

kaffeegarten-schuldt.de

kaffeegarten hamburg

 

2 – The Elbphilharmonie of Hamburg

Here I propose to take a tour of the Philharmonic of Hamburg, called the Elbphilarmnie, which was designed by the Swiss architects Herzog & De Meuron. Considered an architectural masterpiece, it was a real adventure before the building was inaugurated.

The first stone was laid in 2007, and the last one was planned for 2010. In the end, things took a bit longer than expected, with the inauguration finally arriving in January 2017, at which time the original budget had been exceeded 10-fold. But it is definitely worth a look!

You can go for a walk, have a coffee on the huge terrace with a view of the city, or take advantage of one of the many events organized there, some of which are free.

https://www.elbphilharmonie.de/en/

Elbphilharmonie - Hamburg
Elbphilharmonie – Hamburg

 

3 – Play of light in the park Planten un Blomen

The park Planten un Blomen – plants and flowers – is a haven of peace of 47ha in the city center of Hamburg. There are tropical greenhouses, a rose garden, a Japanese garden, and an ice rink. This is one of the largest skating rinks in Europe. During the summer, the ice rink turns into a rollerblading park.

planten un blomen

Throughout the year, a lot of events, concerts, and workshops are organized for both adults and children, and all are free.

From May to September, every day at 10 pm (and at 9 pm in September), there is a show called “Water Light Concert” which takes place right in the center of the park. The central fountain is staged in a game of music and light. The show lasts 30 minutes. It is ideal for families, or if you simply want to have a beer while enjoying a nice view.

Planten un Blomen Show

The nearest stops are Stephanplatz (U-Bahn) or Dammtor (S-Bahn).

https://www.facebook.com/plantenunblomen.hamburg/

4- The Gone Away Bar

I choose a bar that is not located either on the Reeperbahn or in St. Pauli, the famous neighborhoods of the night. Why? Because all the guides will tell you to go there, so it will not be anything special. The Reeperbahn is a sort of spring break for wealthy German teenagers and drunk tourists…enough said.

The Gone Away Bar is located in the very exclusive Eimsbüttel area. The owner is a cocktail enthusiast. He changes the menu every week, according to the fresh products he finds at the market, and according to his mood. He even created a special cocktail for the G20 summit. There are classics like the Moscow Mule, which is made with home-grown ginger. Furthermore, all the fruit juices used are fresh. No tetra packs in this place. The bar offers a wide selection of Japanese whiskey for true enthusiasts. And no worries, if cocktails are not your thing, you can always go for a beer, we are in Germany after all. The bar is small, with a familiar and cozy atmosphere where one can run into the lost souls of the night, it’s quite funny.

https://www.facebook.com/goneawaybar/

The Gone Away Bar

 

5 – Fischmarkt

I end this top 5 with the famous Hamburg Fischmarkt, in the same way that many a Saturday night out in Hamburg end up here. On the other hand, if you are not the “going out” type, then this can also be a great reason to get up early on a Sunday.

As its name suggests, this is a fish market along the Elbe river which takes place in the district of Altona, 10 minutes’ walk from the Reeperbahn, every Sunday morning between 5am to 9.30am, and between 7am to 9.30am during the winter.

Week in, week out, more than 70,000 people visit the open-air market, where you can buy anything from fish to flowers, clothes and souvenirs. Come here for a unique breakfast experience, try the traditional fish sandwich, and if you’re not done dancing after a long night out, you will find live bands in the Fischauktionshalle, playing anything from 80’s rock n’ roll to jazz.

http://www.hamburg.com/sights/fish-market/

fischmarkt-hamburg

Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !

Leave a Reply

Top 5 des sorties cool à Hamburg

Top 5 des sorties à Hamburg

Hamburg est une ville portuaire située au nord de l’Allemagne. Beaucoup moins touristique que Berlin, cette ville est quand-même pas mal visitée pour son port, ses canaux ou son architecture, malgré le fait qu’une grande partie de la ville ait été détruite pendant la guerre.

Même s’il y a tout un quartier dédié à la vie nocturne, Reeperbahn, cela n’est pas comparable avec les nuits de Berlin. Par ailleurs, Hamburg est une ville d’affaire, riche, résidentielle et tranquille. Le truc le plus génial avec cette ville c’est de savoir que ses habitants sont des hamburgers. Cependant n’espérez pas y déguster le meilleur hamburger de votre vie, côté culinaire ce n’est pas terrible.

Si vous séjournez un moment à Berlin, alors faites une petite excursion à Hamburg. Trois heures de bus suffisent. Prévoyez de passer une ou deux nuits sur place, c’est bien assez.

En ce qui me concerne, la famille de mon chéri y habite, alors j’y vais régulièrement. C’est pourquoi je partage ici avec vous 5 idées de choses sympas à y faire, selon les conseils des hamburgers que je connais.

 1 – Balade dans le quartier de Treppenviertel

Le quartier de Treppenviertel, qui se traduit par « le quartier de l’escalier » en français, est indiscutablement le coin le plus charmant de Hamburg. On ne se croirait plus en ville, mais presque dans une villégiature. C’est un quartier d’habitations à flanc de colline face à l’Elbe. Les maisons ont été construites pour la plupart dans un style Gründerzeit, ce qui leur donne un aspect de maisons de poupée.

Treppenviertel House

Toutes les entrées sont fleuris, les rues sont pavées, et il y a de petits escaliers dans toutes les directions qui accentuent l’effet magique de la visite. On a envie de monter un escalier au hasard et de se laisser charmer. Il parait qu’il y a plus de 5000 marches au total.

Les bords de l’Elbe ont été aménagés afin de pouvoir s’y promener, voire même de se détendre sur le sable.

Si le temps est clément, alors c’est l’endroit où il faut passer votre journée.
Pour y accéder, prenez le S-Bahn jusqu’à la station Blankanese, puis marchez en suivant les directions de l’Elbe. Moins de 10 minutes de marche suffisent pour y arriver.

Afin vous reposez en appréciant la vue, il y a un petit café tout mignon sur les hauteurs que je recommande, le Kaffeegarten Schuldt.

kaffeegarten-schuldt.de

kaffeegarten hamburg

2 – L’Elbphilharmonie

Je propose de faire un tour au Philharmonie de Hamburg, appelée Elbphilarmnie, qui a été dessinée par les architectes suisse Herzog & De Meuron. Considérée comme un chef d’œuvre architecturale, cela a été une véritable aventure avant que le bâtiment soit inauguré.

La première pierre a été posée en 2007, et la dernière était prévue pour 2010. Bon, ils ont pris un peu de retard… l’inauguration s’est faite en janvier 2017, soit 10 ans plus tard, et en explosant le budget initial fois 10. Mais ça vaut le coup d’œil !

Vous pouvez vous y balader, prendre un café sur l’immense terrasse avec vue sur la ville, ou profitez d’un des nombreux événements qui y est organisés. Certains sont mêmes en accès libre.

https://www.elbphilharmonie.de/en/

Elbphilharmonie - Hamburg
Elbphilharmonie – Hamburg

3 – Jeu de lumière au parc Planten un Blomen

Le parc Planten un Blomen -plante et fleur- est un havre de paix de 47ha en plein centre ville de Hamburg. On y trouve des serres tropicales, une roseraie, un jardin japonais, et une patinoire. Il s’agit là d’une des plus grandes patinoires d’Europe. L’espace est aménagé pour la pratique du roller pendant les beaux jours.

planten un blomen

Tout au long de l’année, un tas d’événements, de concerts, et d’ateliers y sont organisés, aussi bien pour les grands que pour les petits, et le tout est gratuit.

De mai à septembre, tous les jours à 22h (et à 21h en septembre), il y a un spectacle « Eau et Lumière » qui a lieu en plein centre du parc. La fontaine centrale est mise en scène dans un jeu de musique et lumière. Le spectacle dure 30 minutes. C’est idéal si vous êtes en famille, ou si vous voulez sirotez une bière dans un joli décor.

Planten un Blomen Show

Les arrêts les plus proches sont Stephanplatz (U-Bahn) ou Dammtor (S-Bahn).

https://www.facebook.com/plantenunblomen.hamburg/

4– The Gone Away Bar

Je choisis un bar qui ne se situe pas ni à Reeperbahn ni à San Pauli, les fameux quartiers de la nuit. Pourquoi ? Parce que tous les guides vous diront d’aller là-bas, donc ça n’aura rien d’exceptionnel. Puis Reeperbahn, c’est une sorte de spring break pour riches ados allemands parmi lesquels se perdent quelques touristes, donc bon.

The Gone Away Bar se situe dans le quartier très huppé de Eimsbüttel. Le patron est un passionné des cocktails. Il change la carte toutes les semaines, selon les produits frais qu’il trouve sur le marché, et selon l’humeur. Il avait même créé un cocktail spécial pour le G20. On y trouve des classiques comme le Moscow Mule, mais celui-ci est réalisé avec du gingembre que le patron fait pousser chez lui. Par ailleurs tous les jus de fruits utilisés sont frais. Ce n’est pas du tetra pack, contrairement à ce que proposent les autres bars. The Gone Away offre également un large choix de whisky japonais pour les amateurs.

Pas d’inquiétude, il est toujours possible de commander une bière, on est bien en Allemagne. Le bar étant petit, l’ambiance est familiale et cosy. On y croise les âmes perdues de la nuit, c’est assez drôle.

https://www.facebook.com/goneawaybar/

The Gone Away Bar

5 – Fischmarkt

Je finis ce top 5 avec le fameux fishcmarkt de Hamburg. Car si vous passez votre samedi soir dans cette ville, alors le fischmarkt doit être la dernière étape de votre soirée. Cela peut être aussi une bonne raison de se lever tôt le dimanche si vous n’êtes pas du genre à sortir le samedi soir.

Comme son nom l’indique, il s’agit d’un marché au poisson sur le port d’Hamburg qui a lieu tous les dimanches matin de 5h à 9h30, et de 7h à 9h30 en hiver, dans le quartier d’Altona, à 10 minutes à pied de Reeperbahn.

Le fischmarkt un lieu où tous les hamburgers sont déjà allés au moins une fois, souvent pour décuver. C’est vraiment typique et particulier. C’est de là que transit en grande partie des produits frais qui sont acheminés dans le pays et ce, depuis 1703. On peut tout y acheter, même des souvenirs. La tradition veut que l’on y mange un sandwich de poisson frais. A l’intérieur du vieil hall, il y a des concerts de rock ou de jazz qui s’organisent, histoire de maintenir l’état d’esprit festif de la nuit.

http://www.hamburg.com/sights/fish-market/

fischmarkt-hamburg

Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !

Laisser un commentaire