Playa del Carmen & Riviera Maya

Playa del Carmen and the Riviera Maya

 

Playa del Carmen is a city located within the Riviera Maya, in the Yucatan peninsula. It’s in the state of Quintana Roo, located south of Yucatan. Most tourists who go to this region visit both states. In my case, I only visited the one in the south because I was arriving from Belize, which is on the southeastern border of Mexico, and this was the last stop of my holiday.

Riviera Maya is undoubtedly the most visited region of Mexico. Flights to Cancun are reasonable (50 euros from Miami for example). This region offers both paradise beaches, Mayan pyramids to visit (Tulum, Chichen Itza, Coba), cute villages (Balacar, Mérida), natural parks to discover (cenotes, mangroves), or beaches (Playa del Carmen, Cancun), villages to relax (Tulum, Akumal), marinas (Puerto Aventuras) and fishing villages (Puerto Morelos).

So, as you can see, the Riviera Maya offers a complete all-in-on holiday package!

 

Playa del Carmen:

I only stayed in Quintana Roo for 5 days, and I thought long and hard about which area to stay in.

I arrived from Belize late at night, and I assumed that I would still find something to eat in Playa del Carmen. Then I wanted to be very close to the beach (I had found an Airbnb a minute away from the ocean which didn’t cost $200 a night). I needed an internet connection to work, shops to buy my last souvenirs, and easy access to Cancun airport. Hence, Playa del Carmen was the most convenient, but the place itself is not exactly a dream destination.

Playa del Carmen is a modern and new seaside resort. It is a real city, not a village, so it offers more choices, and therefore there are more people. If you want tranquility and authenticity, this is not the place to go.

But if you want to party, meet people, buy your souvenirs, and go to the beach, it’s a good compromise. Especially since it is easy to take collective taxis from Playa del Carmen to spend a day elsewhere. It sounds a bit like Ibiza, less bad, and less expensive obviously. There is a famous “5th Avenue” parallel to the beach, with all the tourist shops and restaurants you can imagine.

When I arrived in Playa del Carmen and walked on 5th Avenue on the first day, I became frightened. I did not see a single street food stand (this is all that I eat), and I did not understand how it was possible in Mexico. Finally, I had had enough and chose to check out one of the parallel street, about 100m from 5th Avenue, to find the real Mexico. But there was not a single tourist left! Not even one you got lost and ended up there by chance.

Is 100 meters too much walking for them? Are they afraid? Maybe they do not know that there is more than one street in this city? It is a pity for them because the food is better there. So if you are like me and you want to eat well, you will find something to eat by walking 100 meters.

If you like partying and electronic music, Playa del Carmen is your new Garden of Eden. You will find the same parties and festivals as in Ibiza (Ant Party, BPM festival, etc).

To get to the other towns or villages on the coast, there are collective taxis, called “colectivos” at very reasonable prices, more effective than Uber (they wage war on them). Either you go directly to the white mini-vans terminal, which is 2 minutes walk from 5th Avenue, or you walk up a main avenue. The destination is written on the mini-vans windscreen. You tell the driver where you want to go when you enter the van, and you pay when arriving at your destination. It costs about 35 pesos (1.75 euros) per person to get to Akumal, or 50 pesos (2.50 euros) for Tulum. There are departures every 10 minutes. To come back, you just have to sit on the side of the road and hail the mini-van driving by. If he does not stop, it’s not because he does not like your face, it is simply because he is full.

If you have to make a longer trip, you have to go to the central bus station and buy a bus ticket. You can take a second-class bus, less comfortable, a little slower, but cheaper.

Playa del Carmen – Chetumal: at least 346 pesos (17 euros) in 1st class, about 200 pesos (10 euros) in 2nd class. The ride takes about 4 hours.

To get to Cancun airport, the easiest way is to take an Ado bus to the central terminal. There are departures every 20 minutes or so. The price is fixed: 178 pesos (8,90 euros). There is no reduction possible. The buses are comfortable and air-conditioned. The ride takes about 1 hour.

 

Puerto Aventuras:

Puerto Aventuras is a modern marina. It is perfect if you want to have a new apartment with sea view. But you will not encounter any Mexicans.

 

Akumal:

Akumal has one of the most beautiful beaches in the area and cenotes to visit. The problem is accommodation. You will not find anything at a decent price. You can see turtles if you are there at the right time of year.

 

Tulum:

Like Akumal, to stay in Tulum near the beach, you have to be rich or lucky.

Finally, there is the village of Tulum, which is 2 kilometers from the coast, where you can find affordable housing. Then again, being in the Caribbean and not being able to reach the beach by foot, it is a bit of a shame. Especially since there is only one public beach where the whole village ends up going.

Tulum is best known for the Mayan temple that was built on the seashore. The temple is not the most beautiful in the area, but it is worth seeing as it directly overlooks a beautiful turquoise beach.

 

Xel-Ha Park:

Xel-Ha Park is a protected park between Akumal and Tulum.

The mini-van drops you off on the main highway, after which you have to walk about 300 meters to get to the park entrance. You will be asked to pay a 25 pesos (compulsory) donation for the protection of the park. It is forbidden to eat on the beach, or to use sun screen. This place is all about protecting the ecosystem (which says a lot about sun screen). There is a small cenote if you want to cool down. If it is the right season, you will see turtles on the beach. Not many tourists, but a few Mexicans.

 

Biosphere of Sian Ka’an:

If you love nature, then you should definitely visit the Sian Ka’an Reserve south of Tulum. I would not recommend doing this by yourself but rather with a guide. You will descend the river Muyil, between lagoons and Mayan temples. There is something to marvel at.

Ask the guide Martine to visit it with less tourists. martinedufour@hotmail.com

Puerto Morelos:

Puerto Morelos is a fishing village north of Playa del Carmen. Unfortunately I did not have time to go there. It seems that it is pretty cute. It is the perfect place if you want to eat seafood. The beach is not as paradisiacal as elsewhere.

 

Balacar:

Balacar is a magical village on the border of Belize. Much less touristy than the other villages on the coast, one can bathe in turquoise lagoons. Unfortunately, I did not have time to come there, but this is one of my priorities for my next visit.

 

Coba and Chichen Itza:

If you like history, then Coba and Chichen Itza are unmissable stops. These are the two most important Mayan sites in Yucatan.

 

Parks of Xcaret and others:

In the area, there are several parks like Xcaret which offer an all-inclusive package. It’s quite expensive, at least 60 euros a day, but you can eat at will, stroll among the fish, discover the biodiversity of the area, etc. There are plenty of activities for children. I did not go, and I do not know how to comment on it. I think they charge a high price to limit the number of people coming here, and thus to better protect the ecosystem. But it looks like Disney Land… Maybe it’s worth it with kids.

 

The islands:

Cozumel and Islas Mujeres are the most well-known. I did not go there. They seem to offer a good opportunity get some time away from the crowds. For Cozumel, there are departures every hour from Playa del Carmen.

 

The Yucatan:

Merida, Valladolid, Izamal. I have heard nothing but good things about his villages. I think they are unavoidable if you go through there.

 

Cancun:

No comment

 

The border with Belize:

I arrived in Mexico from Belize, but the information I give here is useful for people travelling in both directions:

– You can take an Ado bus that will take you to Belize, or the port of Belize City to be precise, and will wait for you at the border. So, everything very easy and very comfortable. Same in the other direction. There are departures from Belize City to Mexico.

– You can do it on your own with local buses. Chetumal is the last city before Belize. From there, you still have several kilometers to go, so you have to take a taxi to the border for 80 pesos (4 euros). The cab driver will wait for you at the Mexican border while you get your passport stamped, and will then bring you to Belizean customs office. From the Belize border to the closest city, you have to take a collective taxi, which costs about $ 2BZ per person.

– If you stayed in Mexico for more than 7 days, you have to pay a departure tax of about 340 pesos.

– If you are arriving from Belize, there is no tax in Mexico.

– There is no tax upon entry to Belize, but there is a departure tax of $ 40BZ.

 

To discover my mexican trip, click here.

To discover this beautiful country, follow this page : https://www.instagram.com/mexico_maravilloso/

Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !

Leave a Reply

Playa del Carmen & Riviera Maya

Playa del Carmen et la Riviera Maya

Playa del Carmen est une station balnéaire au bord situé dans la péninsule du Yucatan, dans la Riviera Maya. C’est une ville de l’état du Quintana Roo qui se situe au sud de l’état du Yucatan. La plupart des touristes qui vont dans cette région visite les deux états. Pour ma part, je n’ai visité que celui qui se trouvait le plus au sud car je revenais du Belize, qui se trouve à la frontière sud-est du Mexique, et qu’après cela, mes vacances étaient terminées.
La Riviera Maya est indiscutablement la région la plus visitée du Mexique. Les billets d’avion pour Cancun sont raisonnables (50 euros depuis Miami par exemple). Cette région offre tout à la fois : des plages paradisiaques, des pyramides mayas à visiter (Tulum, Chichen Itza, Coba), des villages mignons comme tout (Balacar, Mérida), des parcs naturels à découvrir (cénotes, mangroves), des lieux dédiés à la fête (Playa del Carmen, Cancun), des villages dédiés à la détente (Tulum, Akumal), des marinas (Puerto Aventuras), des villages de pêcheurs (Puerto Morelos).

Vous l’aurez compris, la Riviera Maya offre à elle seule des vacances complètes !

Playa del Carmen :

Je ne suis restée que 5 jours dans le Quintana Roo, et j’ai longtemps hésité sur l’endroit où poser mes valises. J’arrivais du Belize tard le soir, et je me doutais que je trouverais encore de quoi à manger à Playa del Carmen. Puis j’avais envie d’être très proche de la plage (j’avais trouvé un airbnb à une minute de la mer qui ne coûtait pas 200 euros la nuit). J’avais besoin d’internet pour travailler, de boutiques pour acheter mes derniers souvenirs, et d’un accès simple pour me rendre à l’aéroport de Cancun. Playa del Carmen s’est avéré pratique, mais ce n’est pas une destination de rêve en soi.

Playa del Carmen est une station balnéaire moderne et nouvelle. C’est une vraie ville, et non un village. Cela offre plus de choix, mais il y a plus de monde. Si vous voulez de la tranquillité et de l’authenticité, ce n’est pas l’endroit où il faut aller. Mais si vous voulez faire la fête, rencontrer des gens, acheter vos souvenirs de vacances, et aller à la plage, c’est un bon compromis. D’autant plus que depuis Playa del Carmen, il est facile de prendre des taxis collectifs pour passer une journée ailleurs. Cela ressemble un peu à Ibiza, en moins pire, et moins cher évidemment. Il y a une fameuse « 5ème avenue » parallèle à la plage, avec tous les commerces et restaurants possibles pour touristes.

Lorsque je suis arrivée à Playa del Carmen et que je me suis promenée sur cette 5ème avenue, j’ai pris peur. Je ne voyais pas un seul stand de streetfood (je ne mange que ça), et je ne comprenais pas comment cela était possible au Mexique… Il m’a suffit d’aller une rue parallèle plus loin, soit à 100 mètres ou moins de deux minutes de marche, pour finalement trouver le vrai Mexique. Mais il n’y avait plus un seul touriste ! Même pas un petit qui se serait perdu là par hasard.

Est-ce que 100 mètres c’est trop de marche pour eux ? Est-ce qu’ils ont peur ? Peut-être qu’ils ne savent pas qu’il y a plus d’une rue dans cette ville ? C’est dommage pour eux parce que la nourriture y est meilleure. Donc si vous êtes comme moi et que vous voulez bien manger, vous trouverez de quoi vous restaurer en marchant 100 mètres.

Si vous aimez la fête et la musique électronique, Playa del Carmen est votre nouvel éden. Vous y trouverez les mêmes soirées et festivals qu’à Ibiza (Ant Party, BPM festival et compagnie).

Pour vous rendre dans les autres villes ou villages de la côte, il y a des taxis collectifs, dits « colectivos » à des prix très raisonnables, plus efficaces que Uber (ils leur font la guerre). Soit vous allez directement au terminal des mini-vans blancs, qui se trouve à 2 minutes à pied de la 5ème Avenue, soit vous marchez jusqu’à une avenue principale. La direction est écrite sur le pare-brise des mini-vans. Vous annoncez votre destination en montant dedans. Vous payez en sortant. Il faut compter 35 pesos (1,75 euros) par personne pour Akumal, ou 50 pesos (2,50 euros) pour Tulum. Il y a des départs toutes les 10 minutes. Pour revenir, il vous suffit de vous mettre sur le bord de la route et de héler le mini-van qui arrive. S’il ne s’arrête pas, ce n’est pas parce qu’il n’aime pas votre tête, c’est simplement parce qu’il est complet.

Si vous devez faire un trajet plus long, dans ce cas, il faut aller à la station centrale de bus et acheter un ticket de bus. Vous pouvez prendre un bus en seconde classe, moins confortable, un peu plus lent, mais moins cher.

Playa del Carmen – Chetumal : au moins 346 pesos (17 euros) en 1ère  classe, environ 200 pesos (10 euros) en 2ème classe. Prévoir 4 heures de route.

Pour vous rendre à l’aéroport de Cancun, le plus simple est de prendre un bus Ado au terminus central. Il y a des départs toutes les 20 minutes environ. Le tarif est fixe : 178 pesos (8,90 euros). Il n’y a pas de réduction possible. Les bus sont confortables et climatisés. Prévoir une heure de trajet.

Puerto Aventuras :

Puerto Aventuras est une marina moderne. C’est parfait si vous souhaitez avoir un logement neuf avec vue sur la mer. Mais vous n’y croiserez aucun Mexicain.

Akumal :

Akumal possède l’une des plus belles plages de la région, et des cénotes à visiter. Le problème est le logement. Vous n’y trouverez rien à prix décent. Vous pourrez y voir des tortues si c’est la saison.

Tulum :

Comme Akumal, pour loger à Tulum près de la plage, il faut être riche ou chanceux. Enfin, il y a le village de Tulum qui se trouve à 2 kilomètres de la côte où l’on peut trouver des logements abordables, mais bon, être dans les Caraïbes et ne pas pouvoir se rendre à la plage à pied, c’est un peu dommage. Surtout qu’il n’y a qu’une seule plage publique où tout le village se retrouve.

Tulum est surtout connu pour le temple maya qui a été construit sur le bord de la mer. Le temple n’est pas le plus beau de la région, mais il est à voir car il donne directement sur une plage turquoise magnifique.

Parc de Xel-Ha :

Le parc de Xel-Ha est un parc protégé qui se situe entre Akumal et Tulum. Le colectivos vous dépose sur la nationale, ensuite il faut marcher environ 300 mètres pour arriver à l’entrée du parc. On vous demandera 25 pesos de donation (obligatoire) pour la protection du parc. Il est interdit de manger sur la plage, ou de mettre de la protection solaire. Ici on protège l’écosystème (ça en dit beaucoup sur les protections solaires). Il y a un petit cénote si vous voulez vous rafraîchir. Si c’est la bonne saison, vous pourrez voir les tortues pondre sur la plage. Cette plage est plus fréquentée par les Mexicains que par les touristes.

Biosphère de Sian Ka’an :

Si vous aimez la nature, alors il faut visiter sans faute la réserve de Sian Ka’an au sud de Tulum. Cela ne se fait pas seul. Il vaut mieux y aller avec un guide. Vous descendrez la rivière Muyil, entre lagons et temples mayas. Il y a de quoi être émerveillé.

Demandez la guide Martine. Elle propose des excursions à la journée ou à la demie journée en petit groupe. martinedufour@hotmail.com

Puerto Morelos :

Puerto Morelos est un village de pêcheur au nord de Playa del Carmen. Malheureusement je n’ai pas eu le temps de m’y arrêter. Il parait que c’est assez mignon. C’est l’endroit parfait si vous souhaitez manger des produits de la mer. La plage n’y est pas aussi paradisiaque qu’ailleurs.

Balacar :

Balacar est un village magique à la frontière du Belize. C’est beaucoup moins touristique que les autres villages de la côte, et on peut se baigner dans des lagons couleur turquoise. Malheureusement je n’ai pas eu le temps de m’y arrêter, mais c’est une de mes priorités pour mon prochain voyage là-bas.

Coba et Chichen Itza :

Si vous aimez l’histoire, alors Coba et Chichen Itza sont des étapes incontournables. Ce sont les deux sites mayas les plus importants du Yucatan.

Les parcs de Xcaret et autres :

Dans la région, il y a plusieurs parcs comme celui de Xcaret qui offrent une formule « tout compris ». C’est assez cher, au moins 60 euros la journée, mais on peut manger à volonté, se promener au milieu des poissons, découvrir la biodiversité de la région, etc. Il y a plein d’activités pour enfants. Je n’y suis pas allée, et je ne sais pas trop comment me prononcer à ce sujet. Je pense que le tarif est volontairement élevé pour éviter qu’il y ait trop de monde, et pour ainsi mieux protéger l’écosystème. Mais ça a des airs de Disney… Peut-être que ça vaut le coup avec des enfants.

Les iles :

Cozumel et Islas Mujeres pour les plus connues. Je n’y suis pas allée. Il parait que cela permet de s’éloigner de la foule. Pour Cozumel, il y a des départs toutes les heures depuis Playa del Carmen.

Le Yucatan :

Mérida, Valladolid, Izamal. Je n’ai entendu que de jolies choses au sujet de ses villages. Je pense qu’ils sont incontournables si vous passez par là.

Cancun :

No comment

La frontière avec le Belize :

Je suis arrivée au Mexique depuis le Belize, mais les informations que je donne ici valent dans les deux sens :

  • Vous pouvez prendre un bus Ado qui vous amène jusqu’à destination au Belize, c’est-à-dire jusqu’au port de Belize City, et qui vous attend à la douane. Donc tout très facile et très confortable. Idem dans l’autre sens. Il y a des départs depuis Belize City jusqu’au Mexique.
  • Vous pouvez le faire par vos propres moyens avec les bus locaux. Chetumal est la dernière ville avant le Bélize. De là, il y a plusieurs kilomètres donc il faut prendre un taxi jusqu’à la frontière pour 80 pesos (4 euros). Ce n’es pas possible à pied. Il vous attendra à la douane mexicaine le temps de vous faire tamponner le passeport, puis il vous amènera à la douane bélizienne. De la douane bélizienne à la 1ère ville, il faut prendre un taxi collectif, qui coûte 2BZ$ par personne. Cette distance n’est pas possible à pied non plus.
  • Si vous êtes resté plus de 7 jours au Mexique, il y a une taxe de sortie d’environ 340 pesos.
  • Si vous arrivez du Belize, il n’y a pas de taxe d’entrée au Mexique.
  • Il n’y a pas de taxe d’entrée au Belize, mais il y a une taxe de sortie de 40BZ$.

Pour découvrir mon avenir au Mexique, cliquez ici.

Pour découvrir les beautés du Mexique, visitez cette page : https://www.instagram.com/mexico_maravilloso/

Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !

Laisser un commentaire