Koh Lanta, the wild island

koh lanta

No Koh Lanta is not a dangerous island as suggests the TV show of the same name. It’s a relaxing island of the Andaman sea.

Koh Lanta is located to the south of Koh Phiphi in the province of Krabi. It’s slightly less crowded than her neighbor.

 

 

Few days in Koh Lanta

 

 

When I left to Koh Lanta from Krabi, I did not understand why the woman who sold me my boat tickets absolutely wanted that I book a hotel at tje same time. I thought she was trying to scam me. I wanted to make my choice once I arrived. She insisted, saying it was not possible. It sounded weird. I didn’t believe her. But once I arrived, I started to understand she was right.

Koh Lanta is an island with a lot of mountainous areas. The map of the island shows only one main road, which runs from north to south along the east side of the island. But this road also runs through a mountainous area. As a result, transportations are not easy. A car or a scooter are really necessary, as the terrain does not allow you to get around by foot, unless you are accustomed to hike in the mountains by 35° C.

koh lanta map

The landscape does not make it easy to find a hotel. There is not really a village outside of the pier area where you arrive. Often the road will not take you all the way down to the beach, so you have to park your scooter and walk the rest of the way until you reach a hotel or a beach. And this is the case all the way down to the southern part of the island.

Despite the difficult access, the beaches are very beautiful, and fairly uncrowded. They have a wild aspect that is very enjoyable.

koh lanta

It is a perfect island for those who seek to be cut off from the rest of the world, and who wish to relax in a quiet and beautiful setting. It may be perfect for families too if they rent a car.

 

Where to stay in Koh Lanta ?

Unfortunately, I can’t really give any address, cause the places I stayed were not nice enough to be shared here. I was so tired looking for something nice with my scooter in the mountain, that I ended in a ok room that I didnt’ really like. But I advice you to book your hotel in advance. Don’t do the same mistake than me. Trust the lady who sells the boat tickets!

Among the most popular Andaman islands, Koh Lanta is the one I prefer, without hesitation. It is much more authentic, cheaper, and less cramped than Koh Phiphi. It’s the perfect place for hikers, or for boat lovers with all the little islands to discover around.

koh lanta

Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !

Leave a Reply

Koh Lanta, l’île sauvage

koh lanta

Non, Koh Lanta n’est pas une île sauvage et dangereuse comme le suggère l’émission du même nom. C’est une île plutôt reposante de la mer d’Andaman.

Koh Lanta se situe au sud de Koh Phiphi dans la province de Krabi. Elle est néanmoins beaucoup moins fréquentée que Koh Phiphi

Quelques jours à Koh Lanta ?

Lorsque je suis allée à Koh Lanta depuis Krabi, je ne comprenais pas pourquoi la femme qui vendait les tickets de bateau insistait pour que je réserve d’ores et déjà un hôtel. Elle insistait tellement que je pensais qu’elle voulait m’arnaquer. Or je voulais faire mon choix une fois sur place, au feeling. Elle insistait, disant que ce n’était pas possible. Une fois arrivée, j’ai compris qu’elle avait raison.

Koh Lanta est une île avec beaucoup de relief. La carte de l’île ne montre qu’une seule route, qui va du nord au sud côté est. Sauf que cette route est aussi en relief. De ce fait, la circulation n’est pas évidente. Une voiture ou un scooter sont vraiment nécessaires, car on ne peut pas aller d’un hôtel à un restaurant à pieds, à moins d’être habitué aux marches en montagne sous 35°C.

koh lanta map

Le relief ne permet pas de trouver un hôtel facilement, ni quoi que ce soit d’ailleurs. Il n’y a pas vraiment de village en dehors de la zone portuaire. Souvent la route goudronné n’arrive même pas jusqu’à la mer. Il faut garer son scooter, et descendre le reste du chemin à pied pour accéder à la plage ou à l’hôtel. Donc la recherche d’hôtel ou autre peut prendre beaucoup de temps. Et c’est comme ça jusqu’à la pointe sud de l’île.

Malgré l’accès difficile, les plages sont très belles, et assez peu fréquentée. Ça leur donne un aspect sauvage qui est très agréable.

koh lanta

C’est un lieu parfait pour ceux qui ont besoin d’être coupés du monde, et qui souhaitent être au calme dans un très beau décor. Cette île peut s’apprécier en famille aussi, à condition de louer une voiture.

Où dormir à Koh Lanta ?

Malheureusement je n’ai pas d’adresse à recommander. Il a été très difficile d’y trouver une chambre convenable à la dernière minute. J’ai commencé à visiter les guesthouses une à une, mais la difficulté de la route m’a vite fatiguée, et j’ai finalement dormi dans la première chambre un peu potable. Mais ce n’était pas suffisamment correct pour vous la recommander.

Parmi les îles les plus connues de la mer d’Andaman, Koh Lanta est celle que je préfère, sans hésiter. C’est nettement plus authentique, moins cher, et moins pourri que Koh Phiphi. C’est l’endroit parfait pour les randonneurs, ou pour les excursions en bateau à la découverte des petites îles aux alentours.

koh lanta

Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !

Laisser un commentaire