Guadalajara

Guadalajara, state of Jalisco

 

Guadalajara

Guadalajara; the name in itself is already great. Tell others that you went to Guadalajara, and you will hear your friends having fun trying to pronounce that name.

Guadalajara is the second largest city of Mexico. It’s located in the state of Jalisco, northwest of Mexico City (DF). With 4 million inhabitants, Guadalajara is smaller than DF, and has very little in common with the capital. Often forsaken by the tourists who are mostly satisfied with always making the same loop (Mexico City, Oaxaca, Las Chiapas, and Yucatan), I find it a shame because Guadalajara allows you to get a good idea of ​​the local Mexican culture.

I admit, Guadalajara is not the most charming mexican city. Some neighborhoods are cute and enjoyable to visit. But overall, it’s a little anarchic, with lots of traffic and buildings built without any logical structure. In a way, this creates a certain charm. Among the touristic spots not to be missed are the historic center with the Assumption Cathedral, the Government Palace, Liberation Square, etc.

It is a very European architecture that stems from the colonization period. From here, you can easily walk to the central market, where you will almost exclusively find clothes to buy, so this is more a place to walk around than to go shopping. It is among the streets of the market that you can find churros stuffed with dulce de leche.

An absolute Must-See: the districts of Tlaquepaque and Tonala. Both are lovely.

Go for a walk, have fun entering all the little shops, and let yourself be charmed. If you want to buy souvenirs or craft pieces, this is where you need to do it. Have a coffee on a terrace, or have lunch surrounded by mariachis.

For church lovers, consider visiting the Basilica of Zapopan.

Finally, if you want to dine in the hipster quarter, I recommend you go for a walk on the side of Chatepultec and dine at Mercado Mexico. It’s brand new, very beautiful, and very good.

In order to get a complete Mexican experience in Guadalajara, try couchsurfing, or an Airbnb in a shared apartment. Because in the end, you come here more for the local experience than for the landscape. In my case, I am lucky to have a Mexican friend who lives there. This allowed me to have great experiences, especially as the Mexicans have a real sense of hospitality and celebration. If you can spend a Christmas or some other important national event at a Mexican home, you will keep a magical memory (but your liver a little less). For Christmas, plan in 3 days of celebration …

From Guadalajara you can take buses to the surrounding villages. There is also the airport for long distance trips. It will cost you about 150 pesos (7.50 euros) to get from the old bus terminal to the airport by cab. There are cabs with the meter running and others without. If you take a cab without a meter, it is better to speak Spanish well to be able to negotiate.

 

Practical information:

– Bus Guadalajara-Mexico City: between 500 and 800 pesos (25-40 euros) for a 1st class bus. Duration is roughly 7 hours. Night bus is recommended.

– Bus Guadalajara-Tapalpa: about 140 pesos (7 euros). Duration is about 3 hours. There are departures every hour from 5am to 6pm.

 

Tequila, Pueblo Magico

 

If you spend a few days in Guadalajara, then you should definitely make a small stop by the village of Tequila. We all did tequila slammers when we were younger, so a trip down memory lane is essential! After all, it is in the village of Tequila that this famous drink is made.

To reach it, you have to cross kilometers of dry and blue-green fields because of the agave that is cultivated there. And yes, tequila is an alcohol obtained from the distillation of this plant. There are almost a dozen distilleries in the village, which allows you to discover the manufacturing process. At the end of the visit, there is the obligatory tequila tasting.

While you’re there, buy a bottle or two, as it will be cheaper and better than at the duty-free shops at the airport. They say that if the tequila is good, you don’t have a headache the day after. Also taste the agave honey, a delight!

 

Lago of Chapala

 

Lake Chapala is about a 2-hour drive from Guadalajara. Mexicans spend the day or weekend there to relax and stroll around the lake.

The food is great. Mostly shrimp. With all the sauces! I remember spending a day with a family of Mexican women, about twenty people. We had a large table, and ordered a dozen different shrimp dishes. It looked a bit like the scene from Forrest Gump. It is no surprise that the dishes are ordered in family size. If you are still hungry, you can enjoy corn or ice cream around the lake.

 

Tapalpa, Pueblo Magico

 

The village of Tapalpa is about a 3-hour drive from Guadalajara, and it is one of my best memories in Mexico. After crossing desert landscapes, you arrive in a village of pine forests. The Mexicans usually rent a cottage outside the village and spend a few days there.

The village itself is really charming. You will want to stop time and stay there. I ate the best tacos of my life. This village is so quiet, that the bus ticket salesman has set up his “office” in the street. The good man has neither a table nor a chair. He sits down quietly under a tree every day while waiting for customers (here the picture of his “office”). I found this situation great, and it perfectly sums up the state of mind of this magical place.

 

I did not go but…:

 

– Puerto Vallarta in the state of Jalisco. This is a seaside resort a few hours from Guadalajara. It is very popular with Americans and Canadians who have direct flights to this city. You have to see the villages in the vicinity, especially Yelapa which is only accessible by boat.

 

To discover my mexican trip, click here.

To discover this beautiful country, follow this page : https://www.instagram.com/mexico_maravilloso/

Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !

Leave a Reply

Guadalajara

Guadalajara et l’état de Jalisco

Guadalajara

Guadalajara, ce nom en soi est déjà génial. Dites que vous êtes allé à Guadalajara, et vous allez entendre vos amis s’amuser à essayer de prononcer ce nom.

Guadalajara est la 2ème ville du Mexique qui se trouve dans l’état de Jalisco, au nord-ouest de Mexico City (DF). Avec  million d’habitants, Guadalajara est moins grande que DF, et elle n’a rien à voir. Souvent délaissée par les touristes qui se contentent tous de faire toujours la même boucle (Mexico City, Oaxaca, San Cristobal de la Chiapas, et le Yucatan), je trouve cela bien dommage car Guadalajara permet de se faire une belle idée de la culture mexicaine bien locale. Attention au choc visuel, à Guadalajara, la nourriture n’est pas très saine, et les gens ne marchent quasiment pas, ils se déplacent essentiellement en voiture. Donc cela se voit sur l’ensemble des Guadalajariens.

J’admet Guadalajara n’est pas la plus jolie des villes mexicaines. Certains quartiers sont mignons et agréables à visiter. Mais dans l’ensemble, c’est un peu anarchique, avec beaucoup de circulation, des bâtiments construits sans structure logique. Quelque part, ça a son charme. Parmi les spots touristiques à ne pas louper il y a le centre historique avec la Cathédrale de l’Assomption, le Palais du Gouvernement, la Place de la Libération, etc.

C’est une architecture très européenne qui résulte de la colonisation. A partir, de là, vous pouvez facilement marcher jusqu’au marché central. On y trouve surtout des vêtements à acheter, donc on y va plus pour se balader que pour consommer. C’est parmi les rues du marché que vous pourrez goûter des churros fourrés au dulce de leche.

A voir absolument : les quartiers de Tlaquepaque et Tonala. Les 2 sont charmants.

On s’y promène, on s’amuse à rentrer dans toutes les petites boutiques, et on se laisse charmer. Si vous voulez acheter des souvenirs ou des pièces d’artisanats, c’est là qu’il faut le faire. Prenez un café à une terrasse, ou déjeunez entouré de mariachis.

Pour les amateurs d’églises, pensez à visiter la Basilique de Zapopan.

Enfin, si vous voulez diner dans le quartier des hipsters, je vous conseille d’aller vous promener du côté de Chatepultec et de diner au Mercado Mexico. C’est tout neuf, tout beau, et très bon.

Afin de vivre une expérience mexicaine complète à Guadalajara, tentez le couchsurfing, ou un Airbnb en chambre partagée. Car au final, on y va plus pour l’expérience local que pour le paysage. Pour ma part, j’ai la chance d’avoir une amie mexicaine qui y habite. Cela m’a permise de vivre des expériences géniales, surtout que les Mexicains ont un vrai sens de l’accueil et de la fête. Si vous pouvez passer un Noël chez eux, ou un événement important de ce genre, vous allez en garder un souvenir magique (mais votre foi un peu moins). Pour Noël, prévoir 3 jours de fête…

A partir de Guadalajara, vous pouvez prendre des bus pour vous rendre dans les villages aux alentours. Il y a aussi l’aéroport pour les plus grandes distances. Comptez environ 150 pesos (7,50 euros) en taxi pour vous rendre de l’ancien terminal de bus à l’aéroport. Il y a des taxis avec « meter » et d’autres sans. Sans meter, il est préférable de bien parler espagnol pour négocier.

Infos pratiques :

  • Bus Guadalajara-Mexico City : entre 500 et 800 pesos (25-40 euros) en tarif plein 1ère Prévoir 7 heures. Trajet préférable de nuit.
  • Bus Guadalajara-Tapalpa : environ 140 pesos (7 euros) en tarif plein. Prévoir 3 heures. Il y a des départs toutes les heures de 5h à 18h.

Tequila, Pueblo Magico

Si vous passez quelques jours à Guadalajara, alors vous devez absolument faire un petit arrêt par le village de Tequila. On a tous fait des tequila-paf dans notre jeunesse, alors un retour aux sources s’impose ! Car c’est bien au village de Tequila que cette fameuse boisson est fabriquée.

Pour y accéder, on traverse des kilomètres de champs secs et bleus-verts à cause de l’agave qui y est cultivé. Et oui, la tequila est un alcool obtenu à partir de la distillation de cette plante. Il y a près d’une douzaine de distilleries dans le village, ce qui vous laisse le choix pour en découvrir le processus de fabrication. A la fin de la visite, c’est dégustation de tequila obligatoire.

Profitez-en pour acheter une bouteille ou deux, ça sera moins cher et meilleur qu’à la douane de l’aéroport. Et goûtez aussi le miel d’agave, un délice !

Lago de Chapala

Le lac de Chapala se situe à environ 2 heures de route de Guadalajara. Les Mexicains y passent la journée ou le week-end pour s’y détendre et se balader autour du lac.

On y mange bien. De la crevette surtout. A toutes les sauces ! Je me rappelle y avoir passé une journée avec une famille de mexicaines, soit une vingtaine de personnes. On avait une grande tablée, et ils ont commandé une dizaine de plats différents à la crevette. Ça avait un air de Forrest Gump. C’est sans surprise que les plats se commandent en format familiale. Si vous avez encore faim, vous pouvez déguster du maïs ou une glace autour du lac.

Tapalpa, Pueblo Magico

Le village de Tapalpa se situe à environ 3 heures de route de Guadalajara. Après avoir traversé des paysages désertiques, on arrive dans un village de pinèdes. Les Mexicains ont l’habitude de louer un chalet à la sortie du village et d’y passer quelques jours.

Le village en soi est vraiment charmant. On a envie d’arrêter le temps et d’y rester. J’y ai mangé les meilleurs tacos de ma vie. Ce village est tellement tranquille, que le vendeur de tickets de bus a installé son « bureau » dans la rue. Le bonhomme n’a ni table, ni chaise. Il s’assoit tous les jours tranquillement sous un arbre en attendant les clients (la photo ci-dessous c’est son bureau!). J’ai trouvé cette situation géniale, et ça résume très bien l’état d’esprit de ce lieu magique. Tapalpa est un de mes plus charmants souvenirs du Mexique.

Je n’y suis pas allée mais :

  • Puerto Vallarta dans l’Etat de Jalisco. C’est la station balnéaire à quelques heures de Guadalajara. C’est très prisé par les Américains et par les Canadiens qui ont des vols directs jusqu’à cette ville. Il faut voir les villages aux alentours, notamment Yelapa qui n’est accessible que par bateau.

Pour découvrir mon voyage au Mexique, cliquez ici.

Pour découvrir les beautés du Mexique, suivez cette page : https://www.instagram.com/mexico_maravilloso/

Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !

Laisser un commentaire