Period Panties, the symbol of the feminist revolution

Rupi Kaur Period

The subject of this article, as indicated by the title, is period panties. So inevitably, I’ll be talking about a subject that makes you blush: periods!

Yes, this word is disturbing to most of us, especially men. They prefer to say “oh you have your time of the monthor “your thing“. No sorry, I do not have “a thing” that I have to deal with every month for almost 40 years of my life, but my period. That is to say, blood flowing between my legs because my uterus starts a new cycle. Without periods, women would not be fertile, and you, like me, would not exist. So let’s stop being ashamed of this subject so essential to life.

It’s been a few months now that I manage this “thing” thanks to an object that revolutionized my life: period panties.

What are the period panties?

Period panties are panties that are worn during our periods, which you don’t discard and can reuse repeatedly. They are a replacement for tampons and sanitary pads.

I discovered this product on social networks thanks to the brand SheThinx who were targeting me excessively. They were all over my newsfeed, so eventually, they caught my attention. I finally clicked the ad and bought them, just to try. I tested, I loved, I bought more.

culottes hygiéniques

Period panties are designed to contain the blood flow with ultra-absorbent, antimicrobial padding. You no longer need to change pads every 3 hours, and it does not overflow at the sides. Obviously, you have to choose the right panties for your flow.

After use, simply rinse with cold water, because with hot water the blood coagulates and congeals in the fabric (what? You had not already learned this from Buffy the vampire slayer?). Afterwards you wash them in a machine or by hand.

rupi kaur periods
Rupi Kaur

Period panties, are they cool?

These panties are cool, but not only that:

  • The panties are made from cotton and they are super comfortable. There are models for all types of flow, for all shapes, and in various colors. They even have thongs, for those who prefer that, or shorties, tall panties, or bodys.
  • The don’t look like granny panties. The “sport” model is even quite stylish.
  • Now I don’t have to worry anymore about not changing my tampon on time.
  • It’s a revolution for sleeping at night, especially when you’re with your partner. Until now, it was always a little embarrassing to sleep with a pad that could move during the night, a very classy way to wake up in the morning. Now, nothing moves or leaks.
  • It’s convenient for doing sports, or for my appointment at the chiropractor.
  • You completely forget that you are even on your period and that you could end up in an uncomfortable situation.
  • It’s good for the environment, since you no longer have to dispose of more than fifteen sanitary pads that can’t be recycled. Just image the amount of non-recyclable waste these panties could put an end to every year on a global scale?
  • They are safe, unlike tampons. There is no risk of toxic shock syndrome.
  • They are economical because, once purchased, these panties can be used for years.
  • They are perfect in case of spotting. What is spotting? It’s when you loose blood out of your periods.

culottes périodiques

Period panties or menstrual cup?

I know that the other revolution of the moment is the menstrual cup. Some studies suggest it’s no less dangerous than tampons. I think it’s still too early to tell. But, the cups are still made from plastic…

Personally, I have never been comfortable with a cup or tampon in my womb, and most girls who are not embarrassed by the tampons will first turn to the cup.

I guess it’s helpful to have both at home. Because despite everything, the cup, like the tampons, has its limits, especially at night, or at the end of the period when the flow is no longer very strong. In these cases, it can be cool to have period panties as an alternative.

Panties also have their limits when it comes to going to the beach and swimming. Because obviously, the panties do not prevent the blood from coming into contact with water.

The brand SheThinx has also developed reusable tampons, which I’m not interested in trying out for the moment.

Should you buy SheThinx?

SheThinx panties are the only ones I’ve tried. They have a large variety of models. I bought plenty, so I do not need to test other brands. I’m really happy already. The only regrettable thing is that the panties are sent in a plastic bag instead of recyclable packaging.

I understand that the price can scare some people off, especially those on a tighter budget, seeing as a single pair of panties costs between 20 to 30 euros.

They are still cheaper than delicate lingerie, and you do not need to buy large quantities of pads or tampons for the next 5 years. But when money is tight, it can seem like a hefty sum. In this case, you should consider these panties as an investment. Some panties and a cup, and you are set for the next 10 years at least!

I want to believe that in the near future, all products related to our periods will finally be reimbursed by our social security, especially these panties and cups. Because pads and tampons are really shit for the planet.

Fortunately, there are other brands than SheThinx, so you have the choice: Modibodi(UK), Saforelle, Rejeanne(FR), Fempo(FR), Lunapads(CA), Marguette (made in France), etc. You choose!

Important tip: change your panties every 12 hours, even if you think you do not need to. Because we’re not going to lie, periods smell. So if you change it once a day like normal panties, well…you’re going to stink!

 

The main picture of this article is from the canadian poet Rupi Kaur, who has published controversive pictures about periods. I invite you to discover it here.

 

To discover my favorite beauty products, follow this link : http://www.romyandco.com/en/category/beauty-tips/produits-preferes/

Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !

Leave a Reply

Les culottes hygiéniques, l’objet de la révolution féminine

Rupi Kaur Period

Le sujet de cet article est, comme l’indique le titre, les culottes hygiéniques. Donc forcément, je vais parler d’un sujet qui fait rougir : les règles !

 

Oui, ce mot dérange la plupart d’entre nous, et surtout ces messieurs. Ils préfèrent dire “oh t’as tes trucs” “tes machins”. Non désolée, je n’ai pas des trucs que je dois gérer tous les mois pendants presque 40 ans de ma vie, mais des règles. C’est-à-dire du sang qui coule entre mes jambes parce que mon utérus commence un nouveau cycle. Sans les règles, les femmes ne seraient pas fécondes, et vous comme moi, on n’existerait pas. Alors arrêtons d’avoir honte de ce sujet si essentiel à la vie.

 

Cela fait quelques mois maintenant que je gère ce “truc” grâce à un objet qui a révolutionné ma vie : les culottes hygiéniques.

 

Les culottes hygiéniques, c’est quoi ?

 

Les culottes hygiéniques sont des culottes que l’on porte lorsqu’on a nos règles, qu’on ne jette pas et qu’on peut réutiliser à l’infini. Elles remplacent les tampons et serviettes hygiéniques.

J’ai découvert ça sur les réseaux sociaux grâce à la marque SheThinx qui m’avait magnifiquement ciblée. En gros, c’était tout le temps dans mon fil d’actualité. A force, ça m’a interpellée, j’ai fini par cliquer sur la pub, et par acheter, juste pour essayer. J’ai testé, j’ai adoré, j’en ai racheté.

 

culottes hygiéniques

Les culottes hygiéniques sont fabriquées de sorte à contenir le sang qui s’écoule avec un rembourrage ultra absorbant et antimicrobien. On n’a plus besoin de changer ses serviettes toutes les 3 heures, et ça ne déborde plus de tous les côtés. Evidemment, il faut choisir les culottes appropriées à son flux.

 

Après utilisation, il suffit de les rincer à l’eau froide, car avec l’eau chaude le sang coagule et se fige dans les tissus (quoi ? vous n’aviez pas déjà appris ça dans Buffy contre les Vampires !). Puis on les lave en machine ou à la main.

rupi kaur periods
Rupi Kaur

 

Les culottes hygiéniques, c’est cool ?  

 

Ces culottes sont cool, mais pas que :

  • Les culottes sont faites en coton et elles sont hyper confortables. Il existe des modèles pour tous les flux, pour toutes les formes, et dans diverses couleurs. Il existe même des strings chairs pour celles qui préfèrent, ou encore des shorty, des culottes tailles hautes, ou des bodys.
  • Ça ne ressemble pas à des culottes de grand-mères. Le modèle “sport” est même assez stylé.
  • Je n’ai plus aucun stress à l’idée de ne pas changer mon tampon à temps.
  • C’est une révolution pour la nuit, surtout quand on a un chéri. Jusque là, c’était un peu gênant de dormir avec une serviette qui risquait de bouger pendant notre sommeil, le truc hyper classe au réveil. Là, rien ne bouge ni ne coule.
  • C’est pratique pour faire du sport, ou pour mon rendez-vous chez le chiro.
  • On oublie qu’on a ses règles et qu’on peut se retrouver dans une situation gênante.
  • C’est écolo, puisqu’on ne jette plus une quinzaine de serviettes hygiéniques qui ne sont pas recyclables du tout. Vous vous rendez compte du nombre de déchet non recyclable que ça représente par an dans le monde ?
  • On ne peut pas faire de choc toxique avec ces culottes donc c’est sans danger.
  • C’est économique car une fois achetée, les culottes peuvent être utilisées pendant des années.
  • C’est parfait pour gérer le spotting. Mais qu’est-ce que le spotting ? C’est des saignements qu’on peut avoir en dehors des règles pour des raisons diverses et variées.

culottes hygiéniques

Culotte hygiénique ou cup menstruel ?

 

Je sais que l’autre révolution du moment ce sont les cups menstruels. Alors il y a certaines études qui disent que ce n’est pas moins dangereux que les tampons. Je pense qu’il est encore trop tôt pour le savoir. Puis les cups, c’est fait en plastique…
Perso, je n’ai jamais été à l’aise avec une cup ou un tampon dans mon utérus. Et la plupart des filles qui ne sont pas gênées par les tampons se tourneront d’abord vers la cup.
Je suppose qu’il est utile d’avoir les 2 chez soi. Car malgré tout, la cup, tout comme les tampons, a ses limites, surtout la nuit. Ou en fin de règles lorsque le flux de sang n’est plus très abondant. Là, ça peut être cool d’avoir des culottes menstruelles à disposition.

Les culottes ont aussi leur limite lorsqu’il s’agit d’aller à la plage et de se baigner. Car évidemment, les culottes ne maintiennent pas le sang au contact de l’eau.

Bon, la marque SheThinx a mis au point des tampons réutilisables. J’ai pas envie d’essayer pour le moment.

règles

 

On achète SheThinx ?

 

Les culottes SheThinx sont les seules que j’ai essayées. Ils ont un très large choix de modèles. J’en ai suffisamment, donc je n’ai pas besoin de tester d’autres marques. J’en suis très contente de toute façon. La seule chose que je regrette c’est que les culottes soient envoyés dans une pochette plastique, alors qu’aujourd’hui il y existe des emballages recyclables. Puis il y a des marques françaises qui font ça maintenant. Si vous voulez limiter votre empreinte carbone, choisissez une marque locale.

Je conçois qu’elles aient un coût surtout pour les bourses les plus modestes, car il faut compter entre 20 et 30 euros pour une seule culotte.

C’est toujours moins chère que de la lingerie délicate, et on n’a plus besoin d’acheter des grandes quantité de serviettes ou tampons pendant les 5 années à venir. Mais quand on a peu de moyen, cela peut sembler beaucoup d’argent. Si vous êtes dans ce cas, considérez ces culottes comme un investissement. Quelques culottes et une cup, et vous êtes tranquilles pour les 10 prochaines années au moins !

Puis j’ai envie de croire que dans un futur proche, tous les produits liés à nos règles seront remboursés par la sécu, enfin, surtout les culottes et les cups. Parce que les serviettes et les tampons c’est vraiment de la merde pour la planète.
Heureusement, il n’y a pas que SheThinx, vous avez le choix : Modibodi (UK), Saforelle, Rejeanne (FR), Fempo (FR), Lunapads (CA), la culotte Marguette (made in France), etc. A vous de choisir !

periods - culottes hygiéniques

Astuce importante : changez de culotte toutes les 12 heures, même si vous n’en avez pas besoin. Car on ne va pas se mentir, les règles ça pue. Or si vous la changez une fois par jour comme une culotte classique, et bien vous allez puer !

 

La photo qui illustre cet article est de Rupi Kaur, poétesse canadienne, qui a publié une série de photos sur les règles, à découvrir ici.

Et pour connaitre mes autres produits préférés, suivez ce lien : http://www.romyandco.com/category/beauty-tips/produits-preferes/

rupi kaur
Rupi Kaur Mhm
Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !

Laisser un commentaire